10 providersAll prices in USDPrices checked

Compare AI Phone Answering in the United States

Compare AI phone answering services for US businesses. See what each plan really costs once your calls run past the included allowance, and which vendors can actually give you a US number.

Updated
Filters
ai-receptionist.com logoai-receptionist.comZoom Virtual Agent logoZoom Virtual AgentClara logoClaraDialzara logoDialzaraRosie logoRosieSimple Phones logoSimple PhonesGoodcall logoGoodcallMy AI Front Desk logoMy AI Front DeskLucroVox logoLucroVoxSmith.ai logoSmith.ai
Est. Cost /mo (USD)$24/moEssentialCheapest$30/mo100 minutes$40/moClara$48/moBusiness Lite$49/moProfessional$49/moBasic$79/moStarter$99/moBusiness-in-a-Box$199/moStarter$225/moFree
Plans & Pricing
Best$14/mo (Essential)$29.99/mo (100 minutes)$39.99/mo (Clara)$29/mo (Business Lite)$49/mo (Professional)$49/mo (Basic)$79/mo per agent (Starter)$99/mo (Business-in-a-Box)$199/mo (Starter)$150/mo (Pro)
True monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthly
60 minutes (Essential and Starter), 200 (Solopreneur), 400 on the top tier100, 250 or 500 voice minutesNo fixed cap (fair use applies)60 minutes (Business Lite), 220 (Pro), 500 (Plus), 1,000 (Elite)250 minutes (Professional), 1,000 (Scale), 2,000 (Growth)Up to 100 calls a month (Basic), 500 (Advanced), 2,500 (Premium)100 unique callers (Starter), 250 (Growth), 500 (Scale)200 voice minutes100 calls (Starter), 500 (Pro), 2,000 (Enterprise)25 calls (Free). None stated on Pro or Enterprise
$0.25 a minute, prepaid packs$30 per 100-minute packNone, no allowance to exceed$0.48 a minute (Business Lite) to $0.35 (Elite)None. You move up to the next planNone. Service stops at the call cap$0.50 per extra unique caller. Minutes are free$0.25 a minute, prepaid creditsNot published, though the terms say it is charged$3.00 a call (Free), $2.00 (Pro), $1.67 (Enterprise)
Not stated either wayNot stated either wayNot stated either wayNoneNot stated either wayNot stated either wayNot stated either wayNot stated either wayNot stated either wayNone
Yes, 3 daysYes, length not publishedYes, 7 daysYes, 7 daysYes, 7 daysYes, 14 daysYes, length not publishedYes, 7 daysYes, 14 days, and 30 days on the top planYes, a free forever plan
Monthly, or an annual termMonthly, or annual at a lower rateMonthly, or yearly at 15% offMonthlyMonthly, or an annual term at two months freeMonthlyMonthly, or an annual term at 15% offMonthly, or an annual term at 20% offMonthly, billed in advanceMonthly
What the AI Does
Answers and transfers; 1 to 20 transfer contacts by planAnswers FAQs, books appointments, captures leads, routes callsAnswering, custom greetings and outbound calls; Pro adds text follow-upsAnswers and takes messages; warm transfers and calendar sync from ProEnglish and Spanish. Booking and live transfers on Scale and aboveBooking, messages and answers on every planLogic flows (1, 3 or 25 by plan) and a transfer directoryKnowledge-base answers, SMS, chat and forms on one credit meterAnswering, booking and lead capture for trades and servicesScheduling, lead qualification, routing and transcription on every plan
Yes, from Starter. Not on EssentialYes, with Google, Microsoft and CalendlyNot published on any planCalendar sync on Pro and aboveYes, on Scale and above. Not on Professional.Yes, on every planYes, on every planYes, including reschedulingYesYes, AI scheduling on every plan including free
Yes, 1 to 20 contacts by planYes, to a person or team, with contextNo, not on any plan you can buyYes, blind transfers on every plan; warm transfers on Pro and aboveYes, on Growth and above. Not on ProfessionalYes, to your team or other numbersYes, to your line or a named contactYes, capped at 2 transfer actionsYes, to your team, or takes a messageYes, call routing on every plan including free
—No, transfers go to your own teamNoNo, transfers go to your own teamNo, this is AI onlyNo, transfers go to your own teamNoNone publishedNo, transfers go to your own teamYes, human agents as a per-call add-on
Calls & Coverage
Yes, US and Canada onlyYes, or keep your phone systemYes, a Clara number, or forward yoursYes, extra: $3/mo local, $5/mo toll-freeYes, included, you pick the area codeYes, included (UK and Australia covered)Yes, included, US onlyOutbound number includedNot stated; forward your existing numberYes, on every plan
Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7—Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7
—English, Spanish and 10+ others—Bilingual English and Spanish on Pro and aboveEnglish and Spanish on every call1, 5 or 20 languages by plan—20+ languages—English and Spanish
Integrations & Support
SIP and VoIP transfers on the top tierGoogle, Microsoft, Calendly and Zoom calendars; SMS—Calendar sync on Pro and above———Zapier on Business-in-a-Box only—Native integrations on every plan including free
Yes, native USDYes, native USDYes, native USDYes, native USDYes, native USDYes, native USDYes, native USDYes, native USDYes, native USDYes, native USD
Estimates based on $15,000/mo volume. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • Vendors count different units. Rosie includes 250 minutes (Professional), 1,000 (Scale), 2,000 (Growth), while Goodcall meters 100 unique callers (Starter), 250 (Growth), 500 (Scale) Hold your call count steady, change the call length, and the bills move differently.
  • Running over the plan is not one behavior. Simple Phones states None. Service stops at the call cap My AI Front Desk states $0.25 a minute, prepaid credits
  • Most of this table is software with nobody behind it. Smith.ai lists live human backup as Yes, human agents as a per-call add-on, where Rosie lists No, this is AI only. They are different services at different prices.

How we compare AI phone answering

We list 10 AI phone answering services sold to US businesses. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page, in US dollars, with no exchange rate between the advertised figure and your card.

The calculator asks for calls a month and average call length, because part of this market bills on minutes and minutes are the product of those two numbers. It costs each provider at that volume on whatever unit the provider bills, picks the plan that covers you, and sorts by the monthly estimate. Commission does not change the order.

Software only, or people behind it: two kinds of AI phone answering

Start with one row, because it decides which market you are shopping in.

ProviderLive human backup
ClaraNo
DialzaraNo, transfers go to your own team
GoodcallNo
LucroVoxNo, transfers go to your own team
My AI Front DeskNone published
RosieNo, this is AI only
Simple PhonesNo, transfers go to your own team
Smith.aiYes, human agents as a per-call add-on

Smith.ai breaks the pattern. It is the one row that lists the vendor's own receptionists behind the AI, sold as a per-call add-on, and it meters calls: its included allowance reads 25 calls (Free). None stated on Pro or Enterprise Its per-call charge reads $3.00 a call (Free), $2.00 (Pro), $1.67 (Enterprise)

An AI-only service can take a message or ring your cell phone. A service with staff behind it can keep a caller talking while somebody works out who should handle them. If your callers mostly want your hours, your address and a slot in the calendar, the software-only services in this table do that job.

Minutes, calls or callers: what an AI phone answering plan counts

Vendors here have not agreed on what to count, and that changes which one is cheap for you.

Some meter minutes. Dialzara includes 60 minutes (Business Lite), 220 (Pro), 500 (Plus), 1,000 (Elite) Rosie includes 250 minutes (Professional), 1,000 (Scale), 2,000 (Growth).

Some meter calls, and length does not enter into it. Simple Phones publishes Up to 100 calls a month (Basic), 500 (Advanced), 2,500 (Premium), and LucroVox publishes 100 calls (Starter), 500 (Pro), 2,000 (Enterprise).

Goodcall counts distinct callers: 100 unique callers (Starter), 250 (Growth), 500 (Scale) Clara publishes no meter at all: No fixed cap (fair use applies) The Included per month row in the table holds the rest.

Take two businesses with the same calls a month: a dental practice whose callers reschedule in under a minute, and a contractor whose callers describe a job. On call-metered and flat plans they pay the same. On minute-metered plans they do not.

Your call records decide the AI phone answering shortlist

Nobody knows their average call length, and guessing it is how people buy the wrong plan. The data is in the call detail record on your carrier or VoIP account.

Export one full month, not a week. Filter to the calls the robot would actually take: if you are buying this for after hours and overflow, daytime calls answered by a person are out of scope. Divide total answered talk time by answered calls, since unanswered calls carry no talk time on most meters. If Goodcall is on your list, count distinct phone numbers separately.

Put calls per month and average minutes per call into the calculator. If your average sits near a plan boundary, run it again a minute higher.

Over the allowance: what AI phone answering charges, upgrades or cuts off

The answers for the month you go over differ in kind, not just in price.

A per-unit charge: ai-receptionist.com publishes $0.25 a minute, prepaid packs My AI Front Desk publishes $0.25 a minute, prepaid credits

An automatic move to a bigger plan: Rosie states None. You move up to the next plan Your subscription changes without you agreeing to it that month.

A stop: Simple Phones states None. Service stops at the call cap The failure there is not a larger invoice, it is a phone that no longer answers.

Nothing published: LucroVox states Not published, though the terms say it is charged Put that question to the vendor in writing before you sign.

Trials, contracts and Spanish in AI phone answering

Trial lengths are not standardized. Every contract here runs month to month, with an annual option on some, so read the Contract row before assuming a discount.

ProviderFree trial
ai-receptionist.comYes, 3 days
ClaraYes, 7 days
DialzaraYes, 7 days
GoodcallYes, length not published
LucroVoxYes, 14 days, and 30 days on the top plan
My AI Front DeskYes, 7 days
RosieYes, 7 days
Simple PhonesYes, 14 days
Smith.aiYes, a free forever plan

Spanish decides whether the service can take a call at all in much of the country. These providers publish a language list in our data:

ProviderLanguages
DialzaraBilingual English and Spanish on Pro and above
My AI Front Desk20+ languages
RosieEnglish and Spanish on every call
Simple Phones1, 5 or 20 languages by plan
Smith.aiEnglish and Spanish

Transfers and calendar booking are often gated by plan. Rosie's transfer row reads Yes, on Growth and above. Not on Professional Clara's reads No, not on any plan you can buy Check the feature you cannot do without against the rung your call volume puts you on, not the top of the vendor's page.

An AI receptionist works by capturing what the caller said, so call recording consent is a live question. Federal law and most states allow a call to be recorded with the consent of one party to it. A meaningful minority of states require the consent of every party, which is why many businesses announce the recording at the start of the call. Your callers are not necessarily in your state, and the stricter rule can follow the caller. Confirm which rule applies, check what greeting the vendor can play, and take the question to your own attorney. We describe the mechanism; we cannot advise you on it.

Answering an inbound call and starting an outbound one are different regulatory propositions, and some of these products do both. Clara's capability row reads Answering, custom greetings and outbound calls; Pro adds text follow-ups My AI Front Desk's reads Knowledge-base answers, SMS, chat and forms on one credit meter Where a service dials out or texts on your behalf, the Telephone Consumer Protection Act and the National Do Not Call Registry come into scope, and the consent needed is much harder to establish. Treat follow-up calling as its own compliance question.

Finally, the number itself. A callback from an unfamiliar area code often goes unanswered. Goodcall states Yes, included, US only Rosie states Yes, included, you pick the area code. The Local number row carries the rest. The safest arrangement is to keep advertising the number customers already know and forward it, so a change of vendor never becomes a change of number on your trucks and listings.

Frequently asked questions

Why does the cheapest AI phone answering service depend on how long my calls are?

Because vendors meter on two independent units and disagree about which one they bill. Minute metered plans move with call length: Rosie's allowance is 250 minutes (Professional), 1,000 (Scale), 2,000 (Growth). Call and caller metered plans do not: Simple Phones allows Up to 100 calls a month (Basic), 500 (Advanced), 2,500 (Premium), and Goodcall's allowance is 100 unique callers (Starter), 250 (Growth), 500 (Scale). Hold your call volume steady and vary only the average length of a call, and the minute metered bills climb sharply while the call metered and flat ones do not move at all. Which provider works out cheapest therefore depends on how long your calls run, not only on how many you get.

How do I work out my average call length before I choose a plan?

Pull one month of call detail from your phone carrier or VoIP account, which lists the duration of every inbound call, then divide total inbound talk time by the number of answered calls. Count only the calls the AI would actually take, usually the ones that ring out, arrive after hours or land in voicemail. Round the result up rather than down, because an AI that qualifies a lead or books an appointment keeps the caller on the line longer than a human who takes a name and a number. That one figure decides whether a minute meter or a call meter suits you.

How much does an AI phone answering service cost per month?

Entry plans on this page start at $14/mo (Essential) and $29/mo (Business Lite), run through $49/mo (Professional) and $79/mo per agent (Starter), and reach $150/mo (Pro) and $199/mo (Starter). Those figures buy very different allowances, so the plan fee on its own will not tell you what you pay. An entry plan with a small bundle and a per minute overage can cost more in a busy month than a larger plan with a bigger bundle. Price the plan and its overage together against your own call volume and average call length.

What happens if I go over the included calls or minutes?

Overage differs in kind here, not just in price, so read that line before you sign. Dialzara charges: $0.48 a minute (Business Lite) to $0.35 (Elite). My AI Front Desk charges: $0.25 a minute, prepaid credits. Rosie's is: None. You move up to the next plan. Simple Phones' is: None. Service stops at the call cap. A cutoff is the mechanism to think hardest about, because it takes your business line down rather than raising your bill. LucroVox publishes no overage rate on either of its sites, while its own terms say usage above the allowance is billed at one.

Can the AI put a caller through to a real person?

Usually to your own team rather than to staff the vendor supplies, and often not on the entry plan. ai-receptionist.com: Yes, 1 to 20 contacts by plan. Dialzara: Yes, blind transfers on every plan; warm transfers on Pro and above. Rosie: Yes, on Growth and above. Not on Professional. LucroVox's human fallback is: No, transfers go to your own team. Smith.ai is a different shape of product: its human fallback is Yes, human agents as a per-call add-on, so it is an AI front end to a staffed receptionist service rather than AI only. Check which tier unlocks transfers before you compare it with a pure AI plan.

Do I have to tell callers the call is being recorded?

These services record and transcribe by design, so settle this before you switch one on. Federal law and most states work on one party consent, meaning one person on the call may consent to it being recorded. A meaningful minority of states require every party to consent, and your callers may sit in a different state from you, so more than one rule can be in play on a single call. That is why many businesses announce at the start that the call may be recorded. Check the position for your state and your callers with a qualified adviser, and check your vendor lets you add that announcement.

Can I try one before I commit?

Yes, and the window varies by vendor. Dialzara: Yes, 7 days. My AI Front Desk: Yes, 7 days. Simple Phones: Yes, 14 days. LucroVox: Yes, 14 days, and 30 days on the top plan. Goodcall: Yes, length not published. A week is long enough to hear the voice, test a transfer and read the transcripts, and not long enough to see a busy month, so check the exit as well as the trial. Rosie's contract terms are Monthly, or an annual term at two months free, and Dialzara's are Monthly

Do I get a phone number, or do I keep my own?

Both models exist, and on some services the number is a separate charge. Rosie: Yes, included, you pick the area code. Smith.ai: Yes, on every plan. Dialzara: Yes, extra: $3/mo local, $5/mo toll-free. Most businesses keep the number they already have and forward it to the service, which is the safer route, because that number is on your signage, your listings and your reviews. If you take a vendor supplied number instead, you are advertising a line you do not own and cannot take with you.

Browse all AI Phone Answering in our directory

Not sure which AI phone answering service is right for you?

Almost every plan here bundles a set number of calls or minutes, so the cheapest option flips the moment you run past that allowance. Tell us your call volume and we can help you work out which one actually fits.