7 providersAll prices in USDPrices checked

Compare POS Systems in the United States

Compare the best POS systems for US retail and hospitality. See point of sale software costs, card processing rates, hardware, contracts, inventory, and table management side by side.

Updated
Processing

Get a free quote

With your monthly volume, we recommend getting a quote to see if lower rates are possible. Choose up to 4 and we'll send them your details, at no-cost.

Filters
Shopify logoShopifySquare logoSquareSpotOn logoSpotOnLightspeed logoLightspeedClover logoCloverToast logoToastTouchBistro logoTouchBistro
Est. Cost /mo (USD)$675/moCheapest$744/mo$761/mo$802/mo
Visit Square
Visit SpotOn
Visit Clover
Visit Toast
Ratings
4.6Capterra (230+)4.7Capterra (3,000+)4.4Capterra (300+)4.0Capterra (970+)3.8Capterra (570+)4.2Capterra (600+)3.8GetApp (412)
Software & Pricing
$0 POS Lite (Pro ~$89/location)$0/mo (Plus $49, Premium $149 per location)$55/station/mo$89/mo (Retail Basic, annual; Core $149, Plus $289)Quote ($0-135/mo by plan/reseller)Quote ($0 Starter to ~$165/mo + add-ons)From $69/mo
2.7% (in-person, Basic)2.6% + 15c2.45% + $0.15~2.6% + 10cBestFrom 2.3% + 10¢Quote (Toast payments, negotiable)Quote (custom "cost plus" rate, never published)
None10c$0.1510cQuoteQuoteNot stated
Tap-and-chip reader from ~$49 / terminal kit to ~$329Reader $0 magstripe / contactless $49 / Stand $149 / Terminal $299 / Register $799Quote (SpotOn Terminal, handhelds, KDS)iPad-based; reader/stand/printer bundles (~$300-1,000+)Flex / Mini / Station Duo (purchase or financed, quote)Quote (proprietary terminals, KDS, handhelds)Quote (iPad-based; financing offered for 2 or more terminals)
FreeFreeQuote (onboarding with local rep)Possible onboarding feeQuote (reseller-dependent)Quote (implementation)Not stated
No lock-in (monthly)No lock-inNo long-term lock-in (claimed)Annual term typicalVaries (direct flexible; reseller multi-year)Quote (multi-year typical)Not stated
Yes (3 days, then $1/mo intro)Not needed (free plan)Demo onlyYes (14 days)NoDemo onlyNot stated
POS Pro ~$89/mo per location$0 (free plan); Plus $69-89/locationQuote (per device)~$39 per registerQuote (per device)Quote (per handheld/terminal)Not stated
Core Features
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
Limited✓✓✓✓✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓Not stated
AI
Native (Sidekick, Magic copy/images)Native (Square AI, copy, Photo Studio)Limited (reporting, marketing AI)Native (Lightspeed AI, forecasting)Limited (forecasting, Insights)Native (ToastIQ)Not stated
Native MCP (Storefront)Native MCP (dev/ops, beta)API onlyVia 3rd-party (Zapier)API onlyVia 3rd-party (community)Not stated
Industry & Integrations
No (retail/omnichannel)Yes (Square for Restaurants)Yes (restaurant)Yes (Restaurant product)Yes (Table Service plan)Yes (core, restaurant-only)Yes (floor plan, tableside ordering)
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
QuickBooks, Xero, Shopify App Store, Afterpay/KlarnaQuickBooks, Xero, Square Online, 200+ appsDoorDash, Uber Eats, QuickBooks, reservations, marketingQuickBooks, Xero, built-in eCom, DoorDash, Uber Eats, 100s of appsClover App Market, QuickBooks, Xero, e-commerceDoorDash, Uber Eats, Grubhub, QuickBooks, 100+7shifts, MarginEdge
Retail (omnichannel)BothHospitality (some retail)Both (Retail + Restaurant)BothHospitality (restaurants)Restaurants only
24/7 (chat/email)US phone (business hours), 24/7 chat24/7 (US-based, local reps)24/7 (US-based)24/7 (direct); via reseller bank otherwise24/7 (US-based)24/7
Estimates based on $25,000/mo volume. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • Software is published for part of this table and quoted for the rest. Lightspeed lists $89/mo (Retail Basic, annual; Core $149, Plus $289) and SpotOn $55/station/mo, while Toast, Clover and TouchBistro show a quote.
  • A POS system with no monthly software fee exists: Square lists $0/mo (Plus $49, Premium $149 per location) and Shopify $0 POS Lite (Pro ~$89/location). Upgrades are then priced per location and per register, not per user.
  • Contract length is published by some and negotiated by others. Shopify lists No lock-in (monthly) and Square No lock-in, while Lightspeed lists Annual term typical. Financed hardware can carry its own agreement.

How we compare POS systems

We list 7 POS systems sold to US small businesses, and a published software rate card exists for 4 providers. Where a vendor quotes instead, the table shows a quote. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page.

The calculator takes your card volume, average transaction, locations and registers, and adds each system's software fee, per-location and per-register charges and, with the processing toggle on, its published card rate on that volume. Your own card rate completes the cost of a system sold as software alone; your POS cost today turns the result into a difference. Commission does not change the order.

Toast, Clover and the POS system prices you cannot read off a web page

The questions asked most often about US POS systems are what the fees come to and how long the contract runs. For Toast and Clover, neither has a full answer you can read off a web page. Toast quotes the software fee and the processing rate inside a sales conversation. Clover quotes its software fee, publishes only a starting card rate, and is also sold through resellers on their own terms.

ProviderSoftware monthly fee
CloverQuote ($0-135/mo by plan/reseller)
Lightspeed$89/mo (Retail Basic, annual; Core $149, Plus $289)
Shopify$0 POS Lite (Pro ~$89/location)
SpotOn$55/station/mo
Square$0/mo (Plus $49, Premium $149 per location)
ToastQuote ($0 Starter to ~$165/mo + add-ons)
TouchBistroFrom $69/mo

The consequence is that two restaurants on the same street can pay differently for the same equipment. Force every quote into one shape: ask, in writing and on one page, for the software fee per terminal per month, the processing rate and per-transaction fee, the hardware price and how it is paid for, any implementation charge, and the term.

ProviderPayment processing ratePer-transaction fee
CloverFrom 2.3% + 10¢Quote
Lightspeed~2.6% + 10c10c
Shopify2.7% (in-person, Basic)None
SpotOn2.45% + $0.15$0.15
Square2.6% + 15c10c
ToastQuote (Toast payments, negotiable)Quote
TouchBistroQuote (custom "cost plus" rate, never published)Not stated

Comparing the rates themselves belongs on our payment processing comparison. What matters here is that a quoted rate and a published one are not the same kind of number.

Contract length and hardware financing in a POS system deal

Contract length is one of the few things buyers here search for by name, and the table answers it unevenly.

ProviderContract lengthFree trial
CloverVaries (direct flexible; reseller multi-year)No
LightspeedAnnual term typicalYes (14 days)
ShopifyNo lock-in (monthly)Yes (3 days, then $1/mo intro)
SpotOnNo long-term lock-in (claimed)Demo only
SquareNo lock-inNot needed (free plan)
ToastQuote (multi-year typical)Demo only
TouchBistroNot statedNot stated

Hardware is often where the term comes from, because it is the part nobody wants to pay for up front. You buy it outright, you finance it, or it arrives inside a quote with everything else.

ProviderHardware cost
CloverFlex / Mini / Station Duo (purchase or financed, quote)
LightspeediPad-based; reader/stand/printer bundles (~$300-1,000+)
ShopifyTap-and-chip reader from ~$49 / terminal kit to ~$329
SpotOnQuote (SpotOn Terminal, handhelds, KDS)
SquareReader $0 magstripe / contactless $49 / Stand $149 / Terminal $299 / Register $799
ToastQuote (proprietary terminals, KDS, handhelds)
TouchBistroQuote (iPad-based; financing offered for 2 or more terminals)

Three questions decide what the deal costs you. Is the hardware agreement separate from the software agreement? Financed equipment is often papered by a finance company, so canceling the software does not end the equipment payments. Who owns the terminals at the end of the term? What do renewal and exit cost, as numbers rather than policies?

Restaurant floor or store shelf: which POS system market you are buying from

This table looks like one market and is really two. A restaurant needs a floor plan, open tabs, a kitchen screen, modifiers and tips. A store needs stock counts, barcodes, purchase orders and returns. A vendor covering both usually does it with separate products under one brand.

ProviderIndustry focusTable management
CloverBothYes (Table Service plan)
LightspeedBoth (Retail + Restaurant)Yes (Restaurant product)
ShopifyRetail (omnichannel)No (retail/omnichannel)
SpotOnHospitality (some retail)Yes (restaurant)
SquareBothYes (Square for Restaurants)
ToastHospitality (restaurants)Yes (core, restaurant-only)
TouchBistroRestaurants onlyYes (floor plan, tableside ordering)

Read the table management column as a price, not a tick: a named plan or a named product is a different subscription from the one you were quoted. On the restaurant side the delivery apps are the integration that matters; on the retail side it is stock and the online store.

ProviderPlatform integrations
CloverClover App Market, QuickBooks, Xero, e-commerce
LightspeedQuickBooks, Xero, built-in eCom, DoorDash, Uber Eats, 100s of apps
ShopifyQuickBooks, Xero, Shopify App Store, Afterpay/Klarna
SpotOnDoorDash, Uber Eats, QuickBooks, reservations, marketing
SquareQuickBooks, Xero, Square Online, 200+ apps
ToastDoorDash, Uber Eats, Grubhub, QuickBooks, 100+
TouchBistro7shifts, MarginEdge

Watch for modules billed on top rather than included. TouchBistro sells inventory and loyalty as paid add-ons, so its starting software figure is a floor.

Locations and registers: how a POS system bill grows

Growth is priced on doors and lanes rather than headcount. If a second site is anywhere in your plan, cost it now, because it can move the order of this table.

ProviderAdditional register cost
CloverQuote (per device)
Lightspeed~$39 per register
ShopifyPOS Pro ~$89/mo per location
SpotOnQuote (per device)
Square$0 (free plan); Plus $69-89/location
ToastQuote (per handheld/terminal)
TouchBistroNot stated

Some published vendors also list a per-location charge for their paid tiers:

ProviderPer-location fee
Lightspeed$89/location (another subscription)
Shopify$89/location (POS Pro)
Square$89/location (Retail Plus)

Choosing your own processor with a POS system

Every system here can process cards itself. When processing is locked to the POS, your card rate is part of your software contract: you cannot re-shop it without replacing the equipment, the staff training and the menu build, and the vendor knows that when your rate comes up for review.

TouchBistro's row states the alternative: alongside its own payments service it names third-party processors it works with. Every other row lists processing as integrated, and Clover adds a second layer, since a reseller sets the merchant terms itself.

Establish whether the contract obliges you to use the vendor's processing for the whole term, whether the software price changes if you bring your own processor, and whether the terminals will work with anyone else.

Tips and sales tax at the register: the US jobs a POS system has to do

Tips are treated as wages and reach the employee's W-2, so the tip record that starts at the register has to survive the trip into payroll, and states differ on how tipped wages may be paid. Ask whether the system exports tips per employee per shift in a form your payroll software takes, whether pooling rules can be set by role and shift, and who can adjust a tip after close. TouchBistro sells scheduling as a separate paid add-on, a reminder that scheduling is often a separate purchase.

Sales tax has no single national rate: a storefront can sit under a state, county, city and special district rate, and what counts as taxable varies by item. Ask whether tax rates are set per location, whether items can be assigned tax categories, who updates rates when a jurisdiction changes one, and whether the system produces a report by jurisdiction you can file from. If you also sell online, economic nexus rules can create filing obligations in states where you have no premises, which is a conversation for your accountant.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a POS system cost per month in the US?

Monthly POS software fees vary widely on our US comparison, and Toast and Clover do not publish one at all. Square records $0/mo (Plus $49, Premium $149 per location) and Shopify $0 POS Lite (Pro ~$89/location), SpotOn $55/station/mo, TouchBistro From $69/mo and Lightspeed $89/mo (Retail Basic, annual; Core $149, Plus $289). Toast and Clover quote instead of publishing. Whichever you pick, the software fee is only one line on the bill: card processing, hardware and any implementation charge are billed separately, so compare the total monthly cost rather than the headline subscription.

How much does Toast POS cost?

Toast does not publish a fixed price. Our table records its software fee as Quote ($0 Starter to ~$165/mo + add-ons) and its hardware as Quote (proprietary terminals, KDS, handhelds), with implementation quoted on top. Card processing is Quote (Toast payments, negotiable), so the rate you are offered depends on your volume and on what you negotiate. Toast runs demos rather than a self-service trial, which means the only way to see your own numbers is to take a quote and insist on every line in writing: software, hardware per terminal, kitchen display, online ordering, implementation and the payments rate.

Does Toast POS require a long-term contract?

Toast does not publish a contract term. Our table records it as Quote (multi-year typical), so treat a multi-year commitment as the default until the paperwork says otherwise. The rest of the table splits: Square records No lock-in, Shopify No lock-in (monthly), Lightspeed Annual term typical and Clover Varies (direct flexible; reseller multi-year), while TouchBistro does not state a term at all. Restaurant hardware is frequently financed over the same period as the software, so ask two things before signing: what the early termination charge is, and what happens to the hardware payments if you leave.

How do Clover's fees compare with other POS systems?

Clover has no single published fee, which is what makes it hard to compare. Our table records its software at Quote ($0-135/mo by plan/reseller), its setup at Quote (reseller-dependent) and its contract at Varies (direct flexible; reseller multi-year), because Clover is sold both directly and through banks and independent sales organizations, and the reseller sets your monthly fee, your card rate and your term. Systems that publish a rate card can be compared line for line: SpotOn records $55/station/mo at 2.45% + $0.15, Square $0/mo (Plus $49, Premium $149 per location) at 2.6% + 15c. With Clover, confirm in writing which company the contract is actually with.

What does it cost to add another register or another location?

Adding a register or a location usually adds a subscription, not just a device. Square records $0 (free plan); Plus $69-89/location with a per location fee of $89/location (Retail Plus), Shopify records POS Pro ~$89/mo per location, and Lightspeed records ~$39 per register on top of $89/location (another subscription). SpotOn is priced at $55/station/mo, so its fee scales with the number of stations. Toast and Clover both quote per device. Cost the system at the number of terminals and sites you expect to be running in a year, not the one you open with.

Can I use my own card processor, or does the POS lock me in?

Most POS systems on our US comparison process your card payments themselves, so changing processor means changing POS. Toast, Square, Shopify, SpotOn, Clover and Lightspeed all run payments in house. TouchBistro is the exception on our table, recording Yes (TouchBistro Payments, US only; also Chase, Moneris, Worldpay), so a merchant can keep an existing acquiring relationship. Settle this before you sign, because it decides whether you can renegotiate your processing rate in two years without replacing every terminal in the building.

Do POS vendors offer instant transfers, business debit cards and supplier payments?

Several US POS vendors sell banking-style products alongside the register: faster settlement of card takings, a business debit or charge card tied to the account, working capital advances and outbound payments to suppliers. They exist because the vendor already processes your payments and can see the cash flow, which is also why they are generally only available when you use that vendor's own processing rather than a third party. These are separate products with their own fees and terms, they are not part of the POS software fee, and our comparison does not score them, so check settlement timing and any instant transfer charge with the vendor directly.

Does a restaurant need a different POS than a retail store?

Usually yes, and buying across that line is expensive to unwind. Our US table splits by focus: Toast is Hospitality (restaurants), TouchBistro Restaurants only and SpotOn Hospitality (some retail), while Shopify is Retail (omnichannel) and records No (retail/omnichannel) for table management. Square is recorded as Both, Clover Both and Lightspeed Both (Retail + Restaurant). The practical difference is floor plans, coursing, kitchen display and tip capture on one side, and catalog depth, variants, purchase orders and stock counts on the other. Tip pooling, staff scheduling and loyalty are often paid add-ons, so confirm what your quote includes.

Browse all POS Systems in our directory

Popular POS Systems comparisons

Independent, side by side breakdowns of the matchups merchants ask about most.

Best POS Systems for your business

Ranked picks for specific business types, with our live cost calculator.

Need help choosing a POS system?

The right POS depends on your industry, business size, and existing payment setup. We can help you evaluate options and negotiate the best deal.