13 providersAll prices in USDPrices checked

Compare Payment Providers in the United States

Compare credit card processing and merchant services side by side. See in-person and online card rates, monthly fees, card reader and hardware costs, and contract terms across the top US payment processors, all in US dollars.

Updated
70%30%
In-personOnline

Get a free quote

With your monthly volume, we recommend getting a quote to see if lower rates are possible. Choose up to 4 and we'll send them your details, at no-cost.

Filters
PayPal logoPayPalChase Payment Solutions logoChase Payment SolutionsStripe logoStripeSquare logoSquareClover logoCloverStax logoStaxHelcim logoHelcimAirwallex logoAirwallex
Est. Cost /mo (USD)$605/moCheapest$611/mo$615/mo$660/mo$674/mo$150/mo+ interchange$152/mo+ interchange
Visit PayPal
Visit Stripe
Visit Square
Visit Clover
Visit Stax
Visit Helcim
Ratings
4.7Capterra (24,000)3.5Trustpilot (146)4.6Capterra (3,349)4.7Capterra (2,679)3.8Capterra (575)3.1Capterra (42)3.8Capterra (33)3.0Trustpilot (2,506)
Rates & fees
Best2.29% + 9c2.6% + 10c2.7% + 5c2.6% + 15c2.6% + 10c0% markup + 8cIC + 0.40% + 8cOnline only (in-person Coming Soon)
2.99% + 49c2.9% + 25c2.9% + 30c3.3% + 30c3.5% + 10c0% markup + 15cIC + 0.50% + 25cBest2.80% + $0.30 (domestic cards, blended)
9c (in-person)10c (in-person)5c (in-person)10c (in-person)10c8c (in-person)8c (in-person)BestNone
FreeFreeFreeFreeFrom $0-135/mo$99/moFree$0/mo (Explore; Grow $12/spend user/mo + platform fee, Accelerate custom)
Not statedNot statedNot statedNo separate Amex rateNo separate Amex rate ("Consistent Rates")Not stated2.59% + 8c in-person (vs 1.79% + 8c Visa/MC/Discover) at entry tier2.80% + $0.30 (same as Visa/Mastercard; higher for select MCCs)
FreeFreeFreeFreeVariesNone disclosedFreeFree
$20~$25-100$15Free~$20-50~$25$0 won / $15 lost$15 per dispute
FreeFee not returnedFreeFreeVariesNot publishedFree$0.30
Additional 1.50% on international/commercial transactionsNot stated+1.5% for international cards (+1% more if currency conversion required)+1.5% international transaction feeNot statedNot statedNot stated+1.50% (International Cards vs Domestic Cards)
Included freeIncludedIncluded freeIncluded free~$9.95/mo (reseller)Included freeIncluded freeFree
Unified commerce
NoPartialYesYesYesYesYesNo
Online capabilities
YesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
YesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
YesYesYesYesYesYesYesNot stated
YesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
Hardware
Card Reader (mobile, pairs to phone/tablet), Terminal (all-in-one standalone with built-in POS app, optional barcode scanner)Chase POS Terminal (wireless handheld, Android-based), Chase Card Reader (mobile, pairs to phone), Chase Wireless Terminal, Chase Countertop Terminal, Tap to Pay on phoneStripe Reader S710 and S700 (countertop/handheld smart readers), Stripe Reader M2 (compact mobile), Stripe Reader T600 (countertop), BBPOS WisePOS E, Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android; third-party Verifone/BBPOS devices also supportedMobile card reader (contactless/chip and magstripe), portable terminal (Square Terminal), handheld POS (Square Handheld), countertop POS (Square Stand), two-screen counter POS (Square Register), self-service kiosk (Square Kiosk), Tap to Pay on iPhone/AndroidGo (handheld reader), Compact, Flex, Flex Pocket, Mini, Station Solo, Station Duo, Kiosk (self-order)Dejavoo QD2 (mobile wireless terminal), Dejavoo QD4 (countertop terminal), Dejavoo D1 (cloud register all-in-one POS), SwipeSimple B350 (mobile/Bluetooth card reader)Helcim Smart Terminal (standalone, built-in POS + printer), Helcim Card Reader (mobile), Tap to Pay on iPhoneNone (online gateway; POS Payments in the US is Coming Soon)
YesYesNoYesYesYesYesNo
Not statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedN/A
NoNot statedYesYesYesNot statedNot statedNo
Card Reader: Bluetooth only, relies on a paired phone's WiFi/cellular data; Terminal: built-in WiFi plus 3G/4G via an included activated SIM cardChase Card Reader: Bluetooth to a paired phone/tablet (no native WiFi/cellular). Chase Wireless Terminal: WiFi and 4G-enabled. Chase Countertop Terminal: wired. Chase POS Terminal spec sheet lists only Bluetooth 4.2 BLE, with no WAN radio published despite being marketed as wireless/handheld.Bluetooth (Stripe Reader M2, BBPOS WisePad 3, BBPOS Chipper 2X BT), WiFi/Internet (Stripe Reader S700/S710, BBPOS WisePOS E), optional Cellular add-on ($10/reader/month, S710 only)WiFi on all devices; Square Terminal also supports Ethernet via an optional Hub; the mobile Reader relies on a paired phone's WiFi, hotspot, or cellular dataFlex: WiFi, LTE. Mini and Station Solo: WiFi, Ethernet, 4G/LTE. Go: Bluetooth to a paired mobile device (relies on the phone's own WiFi/cellular). Other devices not individually verified.QD2: WiFi, 4G/LTE. QD4 and D1: WiFi, Ethernet. SwipeSimple B350: Bluetooth Low Energy to iOS/Android.WiFi and LTE/4G (Smart Terminal, via Helcim's Mobile Data Plan); Card Reader wireless connectivity method not statedN/A
PayPal Zettle reader ~$29 (first reader); extras ~$79Card Reader + Base $129, Countertop $399, Wireless $499, Smart Terminal $499Reader M2 $59, WisePOS E $249, Reader S700 $349Free reader; Reader $59, Terminal $299, Register $799Go ~$49-199, Flex ~$599-749, Mini ~$799-849, Station ~$1,499+Quoted (resells Dejavoo/Verifone/Clover near cost)Card Reader $199; Smart Terminal $349 (or $32/mo)Online only (in-person Coming Soon)
Platform & trust
1 business daySame-day (Chase account)Standard payoutsNext business dayNext business day1-3 business daysNext business dayNot stated
1.50% of amount transferred, minimum $0.50Not stated1.5% (US rate)1.95% per instant/same-day transfer1.75% Rapid Deposit feeNot statedFree next-business-day only (Faster Deposits)Not stated
Month-to-monthMonth-to-monthNo contractMonth-to-monthVaries by resellerMonth-to-monthNo contractMonthly subscription (no fixed term published)
NoneNoneNoneNone~$295-595 (reseller)NoneNoneNot stated
AI
Native (fraud)Native (fraud protection)Native (Stripe Radar, Radar Assistant, Smart Disputes)Native (Square AI, Square Assistant)Limited (Fiserv AI insights, biometric fraud)Limited (infrastructure-level agentic routing)Limited (internal fraud ML only)Native (AI-powered fraud engine, Smart 3DS optimization, AI expense policy agent, Airi one-click checkout)
PreviewNoNative MCP (official)Native MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (official)
Estimates based on $20,000/mo volume. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost (shown as “+ interchange”, where the rate is a margin over the card networks’ interchange fee) and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • A US card rate is quoted per channel. Square publishes 2.6% + 15c in person and 3.3% + 30c online, so your split between counter and web sales decides what you pay.
  • Flat rate is not the only model. Helcim passes interchange through at IC + 0.40% + 8c in person, and Stax charges $99/mo for 0% markup + 8c. Which shape wins depends on your volume and ticket size.
  • Fees around the rate add up. Clover lists PCI compliance at ~$9.95/mo (reseller) and early termination at ~$295-595 (reseller); Helcim lists Included free and None.

How we compare payment processing in the US

We list 13 card processors selling into the US market, and a published rate card exists for 8 providers. Where a company will not publish a rate, the table shows a quote. Every figure comes from the provider's own pricing page.

The calculator takes your monthly card volume, average transaction and in-person share, applies each provider's published rate and per-transaction charge to each channel, and adds the monthly fee. Enter your current rate and it shows the difference. Commission does not change the order.

Flat rate, interchange-plus or subscription: how payment processing is priced

Almost every US quote is one of three shapes. A flat rate is one published percentage plus a fixed charge, the same for every card, with interchange folded in. Interchange-plus passes interchange through at cost and adds a stated markup, which is what a row beginning with IC means. A subscription charges a monthly fee for interchange at cost with little or no percentage on top.

ProviderIn-person rateOnline rate
AdyenIC++ + 0.60% + $0.13IC++ + 0.60% + $0.13
AirwallexOnline only (in-person Coming Soon)2.80% + $0.30 (domestic cards, blended)
Chase Payment Solutions2.6% + 10c2.9% + 25c
Checkout.comNo in-person channelGet quote
Clover2.6% + 10c3.5% + 10c
HelcimIC + 0.40% + 8cIC + 0.50% + 25c
PaymentCloudGet quoteGet quote
PayPal2.29% + 9c2.99% + 49c
Square2.6% + 15c3.3% + 30c
Stax0% markup + 8c0% markup + 15c
Stripe2.7% + 5c2.9% + 30c
ToastGet quoteGet quote
WorldpayGet quoteGet quote

Stax charges $99/mo for its rate, which is the subscription shape. The crossover between shapes is the calculation to run: a monthly fee shrinks as a share of turnover the more you process, while a percentage markup grows in a straight line, and a fixed charge is a heavy tax on a small ticket. Enter your own numbers rather than reading the percentages. There is no regulatory cap on credit card interchange in the US, so on a blended flat rate a business whose customers pay with debit subsidizes one whose customers pay with rewards credit.

Direct or reseller: the payment processing contract behind the brand

Some of these brands are sold both directly and through resellers, and the reseller channel is where the contract terms live. Clover is one example: its contract and fee rows say the terms vary by reseller, so merchants running identical hardware can be on very different terms. Read the paper you are handed, not the brand.

ProviderContract lengthEarly termination fee
AdyenNot statedNot stated
AirwallexMonthly subscription (no fixed term published)Not stated
Chase Payment SolutionsMonth-to-monthNone
Checkout.comNot statedNot stated
CloverVaries by reseller~$295-595 (reseller)
HelcimNo contractNone
PaymentCloudVariesVaries
PayPalMonth-to-monthNone
SquareMonth-to-monthNone
StaxMonth-to-monthNone
StripeNo contractNone
Toast2-3 years$150/mo remaining
WorldpayNot statedNot stated

Settle before you sign: whether the term is fixed, whether early termination is a flat amount or a charge per month remaining, whether PCI is included or billed monthly, and who owns the hardware when you leave. Anything sold through a person is a negotiation, which cuts both ways.

Square and Clover payment processing side by side

This is the head-to-head US merchants run most often. Rates by channel are in the first table; the rows that separate the two are the fees around the rate.

ProviderPCI compliance feeChargeback fee
Clover~$9.95/mo (reseller)~$20-50
SquareIncluded freeFree
ProviderMonthly feeHardware cost
CloverFrom $0-135/moGo ~$49-199, Flex ~$599-749, Mini ~$799-849, Station ~$1,499+
SquareFreeFree reader; Reader $59, Terminal $299, Register $799

Clover's software plan and fees are part of what the reseller configures, so confirm every row in writing rather than assuming it from the website.

Payment processing when the card is not in the room

The online rate in the first table is what a remote sale costs over a tapped one. A keyed or phone order through a virtual terminal is priced at the online rate or worse, because nobody proved the card was there.

Every row here lists payment links, hosted checkout, online invoices and recurring billing, with Toast as the exception: its payment links row reads No, its invoices row Existing Toast customers only and its virtual terminal No. Airwallex's virtual terminal row reads Not stated.

For recurring billing, ask whether failed cards are retried automatically and whether the stored card vault can be migrated out if you leave.

Cards issued outside the US carry an added percentage, and sometimes a conversion charge on top. If you sell overseas regularly, that row can move more money than a tenth of a point on your domestic rate. The providers that publish it:

ProviderInternational card surcharge
Airwallex+1.50% (International Cards vs Domestic Cards)
PayPalAdditional 1.50% on international/commercial transactions
Square+1.5% international transaction fee
Stripe+1.5% for international cards (+1% more if currency conversion required)

The rest of the table reads not stated on that row, which means the provider does not publish it, not that there is no charge.

Chargebacks, refunds and payout speed in payment processing

Three lines on a statement have nothing to do with your rate and can outweigh a rate difference over a year. Multiply the dispute fee by a realistic dispute count. On refunds, the question is whether your original processing fee comes back; in apparel or anything with a high return rate, read that row before the rate.

ProviderChargeback feeRefund fee
AdyenGet quoteNot published
Airwallex$15 per dispute$0.30
Chase Payment Solutions~$25-100Fee not returned
Checkout.comNot publishedNot published
Clover~$20-50Varies
Helcim$0 won / $15 lostFree
PaymentCloudGet quoteGet quote
PayPal$20Free
SquareFreeFree
Stax~$25Not published
Stripe$15Free
Toast~$15-25None published
WorldpayNot publishedNot stated

Standard settlement timing is in the Settlement time row of the comparison table. Paying to move money you earned a day earlier is short-term financing, and the percentages read cheap only because they are quoted per transfer rather than annualized. Work out what daily transfers cost across a year before leaving it on.

ProviderInstant payout fee
Clover1.75% Rapid Deposit fee
HelcimFree next-business-day only (Faster Deposits)
PayPal1.50% of amount transferred, minimum $0.50
Square1.95% per instant/same-day transfer
Stripe1.5% (US rate)
Toast1.75% Instant Deposit fee (excludes Amex Direct transactions)

Surcharging and the payment processing rules in your state

Passing the cost of card acceptance on to the customer is permitted in most US states, subject to conditions, and it is where merchants most often get into trouble. Two rule sets apply at once, and the stricter governs. The card networks set requirements for merchants who surcharge, typically including registration before you start, a cap on the amount, clear disclosure at the entrance, the point of sale and the receipt, and an exclusion of debit and prepaid cards. Separately, a small number of states restrict or prohibit the practice. Confirm your own state's current position and the current network rules, and get your processor's answer in writing.

Cash discounting, where the posted price already includes card acceptance and a customer paying another way gets a discount, is treated differently in both state law and network rules.

Your pricing model decides whether you can even calculate a fair surcharge. On interchange-plus or a subscription account, interchange and markup arrive as separate lines, so you know what a sale cost you; a flat rate is one blended number by design. If your margin is thin enough that surcharging looks necessary, price those options first: lowering your own cost carries none of the customer-facing risk.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Clover cost?

Clover lists 2.6% + 10c on in-person card payments and 3.5% + 10c on online payments, plus a software plan running From $0-135/mo depending on the plan you take. The part buyers miss is the sales channel. Clover accounts are largely sold through resellers rather than direct, so contract length is listed as Varies by reseller, reseller plans commonly add a PCI compliance fee of ~$9.95/mo (reseller), and an early termination fee of ~$295-595 (reseller) is common. Get the rate, the monthly plan fee, the PCI fee and the term in writing from whoever is selling you the account.

How much does Square cost?

Square publishes 2.6% + 15c for in-person card payments and 3.3% + 30c for online payments, with a monthly software fee of $0 on its free plan. Square lists its contract as Month-to-month with an early termination fee of None. Around the rate, it lists its chargeback fee as Free, PCI compliance as Included free, instant transfers at 1.95% per instant/same-day transfer, and international cards at +1.5% international transaction fee. Larger merchants can negotiate custom rates with Square rather than taking the published ones.

Square or Clover: how do the costs compare?

They are close on the in-person rate and separate on almost everything else. Square lists 2.6% + 15c in person against Clover's 2.6% + 10c. Online, Square lists 3.3% + 30c and Clover 3.5% + 10c. On software, Square lists $0 a month against Clover's From $0-135/mo. Chargebacks are Free at Square and ~$20-50 at Clover. The structural difference is how you buy: Square sells direct and lists its contract as Month-to-month, while Clover comes through resellers who set their own contract, PCI fee and exit fee. Compare the full quote, not the advertised rate.

Why do in-person, online and invoice payments cost different rates?

Card-present payments are priced lower than card-not-present payments because a tapped, dipped or swiped card carries less fraud and chargeback risk than one typed into a form. Square lists 2.6% + 15c in person against 3.3% + 30c online, Stripe 2.7% + 5c against 2.9% + 30c, PayPal 2.29% + 9c against 2.99% + 49c, and Chase Payment Solutions 2.6% + 10c against 2.9% + 25c. Keyed sales, payment links, hosted invoices and virtual terminal sales are all card-not-present, so budget them at the online rate unless the provider quotes a separate keyed rate.

What is interchange, and when does interchange-plus beat a flat rate?

Interchange is the portion of every card fee that goes to the bank that issued the customer's card. It is set by the card networks, and every processor pays it. Flat-rate pricing bundles interchange, network fees and the processor's markup into one advertised number; interchange-plus passes interchange through at cost and adds a stated markup, and membership pricing swaps the percentage markup for a monthly subscription. Helcim lists IC + 0.40% + 8c in person, Adyen IC++ + 0.60% + $0.13, and Stax charges $99/mo plus 0% markup + 8c over interchange. Which model wins depends on your monthly volume, average ticket and card mix.

Why are US card processing rates higher than in other countries?

Because US credit card interchange is not capped. Under the Durbin Amendment the Federal Reserve caps debit interchange for large issuers, but credit interchange is set by the card networks with no equivalent ceiling, and rewards and commercial credit cards carry the highest rates of all. That is why a US flat rate sits where it does, and why interchange-plus and membership pricing exist here: they let a merchant with a favorable card mix pay the real interchange rather than a blended average built to cover the expensive cards. Your own card mix decides how much that is worth.

Can I add a surcharge to cover card fees?

Credit card surcharging is permitted in most US states, subject to card network rules and to your own state's law, and a few states restrict or prohibit it. The network conditions are broadly consistent: register the surcharge with the card brands before you start, keep it no higher than your cost of acceptance and within the brand's ceiling, disclose it at the entrance, at the point of sale and on the receipt, and never surcharge debit or prepaid cards. Check the current position in your state and confirm your provider supports compliant surcharging. This is general information, not legal advice.

Payment links, online invoices and recurring or subscription billing are standard rather than premium add-ons across the providers compared here. Clover, Square, Stripe, PayPal, Helcim, Chase Payment Solutions and Stax all support payment links, invoicing and recurring billing. Toast is the exception on payment links, since it is built around restaurant service, and its invoicing is limited to existing customers. What differs is the price, not the presence: every one of those is a card-not-present payment, so it bills at the online or keyed rate, for example 2.9% + 30c on Stripe and 3.5% + 10c on Clover.

Browse all Payment Providers in our directory

Popular Payment Providers comparisons

Independent, side by side breakdowns of the matchups merchants ask about most.

Need help choosing the right provider?

Our team can audit your current merchant fees and negotiate better rates on your behalf.