13 providersAll prices in USDPrices checked

Compare Email Marketing in the United States

Compare email marketing software for US businesses. See pricing at your list size, automation features, e-commerce integrations, and SMS support side by side, all in US dollars.

Updated
Need automation?
Filters
Ratings
4.6Capterra (3,204)4.6Capterra (236)4.6Capterra (78)—4.6Capterra (2,561)4.7Capterra (2,277)4.4G2 (13,599)4.6G2 (1,185)4.4Capterra (321)4.5Capterra (17,624)4.6Capterra (528)4.3Capterra (2,803)4.1Capterra (5,000)
Pricing & Plans
FreeNewsletterStarterStarterStarterComfortStarter (1,000 contacts)StandardLiteEssentialsEmailLiteLite
Per email volumePer subscriberPer active contactPer marketing contactPer contactPer subscriberPer seatPer subscriberPer subscriberPer contactPer active profilePer contactPer subscriber
$8/mo (Starter)Best$0 (free to 10K)$9.90/mo (Starter)$13.33/mo (Starter)$15/mo (Starter)$10.80/mo (Comfort)$20/seat/mo (Starter)$16/mo (Standard)$12.50/mo (Lite)$13/mo (Essentials)$20/mo (Email)$12/mo (Lite)$13/mo (Lite)
Unlimited contacts (billed by sends)Active subscribersActive contacts (fair use: 12x contacts /mo in sends)Peak marketing contacts in the month (non-marketing contacts and form responses unlimited and uncounted)All contacts (active + inactive)Active subscribersPer seat, plus marketing contacts in blocks of 1,000All contacts including non-subscribersActive subscribers (unsubscribes excluded)All contacts including unsubscribedActive profiles only (excludes suppressed)All contacts including unsubscribed until removedActive subscribers
Yes (300 emails /day, unlimited contacts)Yes (10K subscribers, 1 automation, no A/B)Yes (250 contacts, 3,000 sends /mo, no automation)No (forms only)No (14-day trial)Yes (250 subscribers, 2,500 emails /mo)Yes (free marketing tools, up to 2 users)Yes (250 contacts, 500 emails, 60 SMS /mo)No (14-day trial)Yes (250 contacts, 500 sends /mo)Yes (250 profiles, 500 emails /mo)No (free trial)No (30-day free trial)
Email Marketing Features
Basic (Starter), Advanced (Business+)Basic (Free), Advanced (Creator+)Unlimited (Growth+)Yes (Starter+)Advanced (Plus+); Basic (Starter)Basic (Comfort), Advanced (Power)Basic (Starter), Advanced omni-channel (Professional+)Advanced (Pro); Basic (Standard)Basic (Lite), Advanced (Plus)Basic (Essentials), Advanced (Standard+)Advanced (flows, triggers, predictive on every paid plan)Basic (Lite), Advanced (Standard+)Throttled on Lite (limited to its send allowance), unlimited on Essentials
Shopify, WooCommerce, PrestaShop, MagentoShopify, WooCommerceNone native (Stripe, WordPress; stores via Zapier)None published (REST API, webhooks and MCP server only)Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, SquarespaceShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerceShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify (deep native), WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerceShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce (via integrations)
Yes (US supported)NoNo (SMS add-on is UK customers only)NoYes (US SMS add-on)No (separate Transactional product)Yes (paid add-on)YesNo (3rd-party integrations only)Yes (US SMS, paid add-on)Yes (US supported, in-app credits)Yes (US SMS add-on)No
Advanced (behavioral, transactional)Basic (tags, segments)Moderate (unlimited audiences, web and event tracking)Yes (nested AND/OR, page activity and events; web push activity on Professional)Advanced (behavioral, purchase, engagement)Moderate (interests, activity, custom fields)Advanced (Pro+)Advanced (e-commerce behavior, purchase data)Moderate (tags, segments; unlimited on Plus)Moderate (tags, predicted demographics)Very advanced (predictive, purchase behavior, CLV)Moderate (lists, tags, click segments)Strong (behavioural, engagement, custom fields)
Yes (Business+)Yes (Creator Pro only)Yes (A/B split sending, paid plans)Yes (Starter and above)Yes (all plans)Yes (Comfort+)YesYes (Standard+)Yes (split testing)Yes (Standard+)Yes (all paid plans)Yes (Standard+, subject line)Yes
YesYes (Creator+)No (hosted signup forms only)No (forms and popups only)Yes (Plus+)YesYesYes (limited)YesYesYes (limited)YesNo (signup forms only)
Yes (embedded, pop-ups)Yes (embedded, hosted)Yes (embedded and hosted; paid plans only)YesYes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted)YesYes (embedded, pop-ups, wheel)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted, AI builder)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, fly-outs)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted)Yes (embedded, hosted)
70+50+YesYes250+100+Not stated250+600+100+100+200+100+ (best-in-class design)
HighHighNot statedNo published benchmarkVery high (94% in independent tests)HighNot statedHighModerate (strong on Outlook, weaker on Gmail)High (89% in independent tests)Very high (e-commerce specialist)HighHigh
AI
Native (Aura)Native (AI subject lines)Native (AI Content Assistant, Brand Analyzer)Native (in-app AI assistant, email copy generation, tone of voice; AI personalisation on Professional)Native (Active Intelligence)Native (AI writing assistant)Native (Breeze)Native (Omnisend AI)Native (AI Writer, Smart Designer)Native (Intuit Assist, 20+ AI)Native (Klaviyo AI agents)Native (AI content generator)Limited (subject-line and copy assist)
Native MCP (official)Native MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (official, hosted, all plans)Native MCP (official)Native MCP (official, beta)Native MCP (official, beta)Native MCP (official)Native MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)
Integrations & Support
Yes (unsubscribe, sender ID, address footer)Yes (unsubscribe, sender ID, address footer)Unsubscribe, list cleaning, domain authenticationYes (double opt-in, unsubscribe, SPF/DKIM/DMARC domain auth)Yes (unsubscribe, sender ID, address footer)Yes (unsubscribe, sender ID, address footer)Yes (unsubscribe, subscription types, sender ID)Yes (unsubscribe, sender ID, address footer)Yes (unsubscribe, sender ID, address footer)Yes (unsubscribe, sender ID, address footer)Yes (unsubscribe, sender ID, address footer)Yes (unsubscribe, sender ID, address footer)Yes (unsubscribe, sender ID, address footer)
60+90+19None published900+140+1,000+130+750+300+350+300+250+
YesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes (revenue)YesYesYes (revenue)YesYes
YesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Business hoursBusiness hoursEmail + knowledge baseEmail and knowledge base (priority chat and email on Professional)24/7 chatBusiness hours24/7 chatBusiness hours24/7 phoneBusiness hoursBusiness hoursPhone + chat24/7 email
NoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNo
Estimates based on 1,000 subscribers and 5,000 emails/mo, without automation. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on. Estimates use each free plan where your subscriber count fits, otherwise the cheapest paid tier that covers your list size. Turn on the automation toggle to move providers to their advanced automation tier. Some providers price by monthly email volume rather than contacts, so their cost changes with the Emails /mo input. Enter your current monthly cost to see your savings against each provider.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • This category runs on two meters. Brevo bills Per email volume, Klaviyo Per active profile and HubSpot Per seat, so a large list mailed rarely and a small list mailed daily get opposite answers.
  • Read the contact billing row before the price. Mailchimp counts All contacts including unsubscribed, while Klaviyo counts Active profiles only (excludes suppressed). On one of those you keep paying to store people you can no longer email.
  • A free plan is capped on something, and the axis decides how long it lasts. Kit publishes Yes (10K subscribers, 1 automation, no A/B), Mailchimp Yes (250 contacts, 500 sends /mo) and Brevo Yes (300 emails /day, unlimited contacts).

How we compare email marketing software

We list 13 email marketing platforms sold to US businesses. Every figure comes from the vendor's own US pricing page; some are the monthly equivalent of an annual commitment, so read the Contract row beside the number.

The calculator asks for subscribers and emails a month separately, because the vendors here do not all bill on the same one, plus whether you need automation, which sits above the entry tier on much of it. It picks each vendor's plan that covers those numbers on its own meter and sorts by monthly cost. Commission does not change the order.

Stored contacts or emails sent: the two meters email marketing software bills on

Most vendors here charge for the contacts you store. At least one charges for the emails you send instead, and HubSpot prices per seat. A few cap both contacts and sends. The pricing model row is the fastest way to see which you are dealing with.

ProviderPricing model
ActiveCampaignPer contact
AWeberPer subscriber
BrevoPer email volume
Campaign MonitorPer subscriber
Constant ContactPer contact
HubSpotPer seat
KitPer subscriber
KlaviyoPer active profile
MailchimpPer contact
MailerLitePer subscriber
OmnisendPer subscriber
SpreefloPer marketing contact
TranspondPer active contact

Picture two businesses. One holds a big list built over years and mails it once a quarter. The other holds a short list and mails it every morning. On a contact-priced platform the first pays for every dormant name and the second pays almost nothing. On a send-priced platform the positions reverse. So enter your real subscriber count and your real monthly send volume before reading any ordering.

The contacts you cannot email and still pay your email marketing software to store

Every list contains people you will never mail again: they unsubscribed, they hard bounced, or a spam complaint suppressed them. On some platforms you carry on paying for them, because the meter counts rows rather than people you are allowed to contact.

ProviderContact billing
ActiveCampaignAll contacts (active + inactive)
AWeberActive subscribers (unsubscribes excluded)
BrevoUnlimited contacts (billed by sends)
Campaign MonitorActive subscribers
Constant ContactAll contacts including unsubscribed until removed
HubSpotPer seat, plus marketing contacts in blocks of 1,000
KitActive subscribers
KlaviyoActive profiles only (excludes suppressed)
MailchimpAll contacts including unsubscribed
MailerLiteActive subscribers
OmnisendAll contacts including non-subscribers
SpreefloPeak marketing contacts in the month (non-marketing contacts and form responses unlimited and uncounted)
TranspondActive contacts (fair use: 12x contacts /mo in sends)

You cannot solve it by deleting them: removing an unsubscribe record is how a later re-import resurrects it and turns a tidy database into a violation. Ask any vendor whether an unsubscribe or a hard bounce reduces your bill, and whether you can export the suppression list if you leave. If the answers are no, price the plan at the list size you expect in two years.

Free plans and automation gates in email marketing software

A free plan here is never uncapped. It is capped on contacts, on sends, on features, or some combination, and the axis decides whether it lasts a month or a year. Automation is the other common gate.

ProviderFree planAutomation
ActiveCampaignNo (14-day trial)Advanced (Plus+); Basic (Starter)
AWeberNo (14-day trial)Basic (Lite), Advanced (Plus)
BrevoYes (300 emails /day, unlimited contacts)Basic (Starter), Advanced (Business+)
Campaign MonitorNo (30-day free trial)Throttled on Lite (limited to its send allowance), unlimited on Essentials
Constant ContactNo (free trial)Basic (Lite), Advanced (Standard+)
HubSpotYes (free marketing tools, up to 2 users)Basic (Starter), Advanced omni-channel (Professional+)
KitYes (10K subscribers, 1 automation, no A/B)Basic (Free), Advanced (Creator+)
KlaviyoYes (250 profiles, 500 emails /mo)Advanced (flows, triggers, predictive on every paid plan)
MailchimpYes (250 contacts, 500 sends /mo)Basic (Essentials), Advanced (Standard+)
MailerLiteYes (250 subscribers, 2,500 emails /mo)Basic (Comfort), Advanced (Power)
OmnisendYes (250 contacts, 500 emails, 60 SMS /mo)Advanced (Pro); Basic (Standard)
SpreefloNo (forms only)Yes (Starter+)
TranspondYes (250 contacts, 3,000 sends /mo, no automation)Unlimited (Growth+)

Notice how many free tiers cap the send as well as the list: if you run a daily newsletter to a modest list, check the send allowance on the paid plan too. If a welcome sequence or an abandoned cart flow is the reason you are shopping, the entry price on part of this table is not the price you will pay, which is why the calculator carries an automation toggle. If you are mailing a couple of hundred people occasionally, you probably do not need to pay for anything here this year.

CAN-SPAM is an opt-out law, and email marketing software cannot make you compliant

US commercial email is governed by CAN-SPAM, and it is an opt-out regime. You are not required to hold prior consent before sending a commercial message to a US recipient. What you must do is give them a working way to stop, and honor it promptly.

The obligations land on the sender, not the tool. Headers and subject lines must not be misleading, and a commercial message has to be identifiable as one. A valid physical postal address must appear in every commercial message; a footer with no address is the most common failure. The opt-out has to work and be honored: a link that errors, or a suppression list a re-import overwrites, is the same failure. Penalties are assessed per email, so exposure scales with the send.

Every platform here provides the plumbing, and the CAN-SPAM tools row lists what each one ships. Read it as a list of features, not a verdict: a platform can hand you an address footer while you break the law with a purchased list. If you hold data on California residents, CCPA and CPRA add access and deletion rights, and other states have their own versions. None of this is legal advice.

Gmail and Yahoo decide what lands, not your email marketing software

CAN-SPAM sets a floor. The mailbox providers set the real bar: Gmail, Yahoo and Microsoft publish their own bulk sender requirements, and failing those gets you filtered whether or not you complied with the law. Three things are yours to do. Authenticate your sending domain with SPF, DKIM and DMARC records; sending from a free mailbox address instead of your own domain is the failure no vendor can fix. Offer one-click unsubscribe in the header, which is separate from the link in your footer. Keep spam complaints low, which is list hygiene and sending frequency rather than which product you bought. The vendor side is real but secondary.

ProviderDeliverability
ActiveCampaignVery high (94% in independent tests)
AWeberModerate (strong on Outlook, weaker on Gmail)
BrevoHigh
Campaign MonitorHigh
Constant ContactHigh
HubSpotNot stated
KitHigh
KlaviyoVery high (e-commerce specialist)
MailchimpHigh (89% in independent tests)
MailerLiteHigh
OmnisendHigh
SpreefloNo published benchmark
TranspondNot stated

Treat those as a ceiling, not a promise. A strong reputation will not save a purchased list.

Stores, creators and CRM-led teams buy different email marketing software

This table covers several different jobs, and comparing across them on price alone produces nonsense. Online stores need order data flowing in, so the e-commerce integration row is the qualifying one. Creators price on subscribers and send broadcasts rather than flows. CRM-led teams want the email tool and the contact record in one system, which is why HubSpot's contact billing reads as a different shape. If you text customers, the SMS row narrows the list on its own.

ProviderE-commerce integrationsSMS marketing
ActiveCampaignShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoYes (US SMS add-on)
AWeberShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerceNo (3rd-party integrations only)
BrevoShopify, WooCommerce, PrestaShop, MagentoYes (US supported)
Campaign MonitorShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce (via integrations)No
Constant ContactShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerceYes (US SMS add-on)
HubSpotShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoYes (paid add-on)
KitShopify, WooCommerceNo
KlaviyoShopify (deep native), WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoYes (US supported, in-app credits)
MailchimpShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoYes (US SMS, paid add-on)
MailerLiteShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, SquarespaceNo (separate Transactional product)
OmnisendShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoYes
SpreefloNone published (REST API, webhooks and MCP server only)No
TranspondNone native (Stripe, WordPress; stores via Zapier)No (SMS add-on is UK customers only)

Switching is easier than it looks: every provider here lists Contract as No, so leaving is a billing decision. What does not transfer cleanly is engagement history and suppression state. Export the suppression list first and import it before your first send on the new platform.

Frequently asked questions

Is email marketing priced on contacts stored or on emails sent?

Both, depending on the vendor, and that is the single biggest reason two quotes for the same business come out different. Mailchimp counts All contacts including unsubscribed. Klaviyo counts Active profiles only (excludes suppressed). Brevo takes the other approach entirely: Unlimited contacts (billed by sends). A large list you mail rarely is cheaper on a send based plan, while a small list you mail daily is cheaper on a contact based plan. Work out both numbers, your list size and your monthly send volume, before you compare, because the same table gives opposite answers depending on which one you look at.

How does Klaviyo's pricing compare with other marketing automation tools?

Klaviyo's entry plan is $20/mo (Email) and it bills on Active profiles only (excludes suppressed), so suppressed profiles do not add to the bill. ActiveCampaign starts at $15/mo (Starter) but counts All contacts (active + inactive), Mailchimp starts at $13/mo (Essentials) counting All contacts including unsubscribed, and Omnisend starts at $16/mo (Standard). The entry price is not the comparison that decides the bill. What decides it is which contacts each vendor counts and how quickly the tier steps up as your list grows, so price every option at your real list size.

Do you pay for contacts you can no longer email?

On some platforms, yes. Mailchimp counts All contacts including unsubscribed and Constant Contact counts All contacts including unsubscribed until removed, so a list built up over years can carry paid dead weight. Others exclude them: AWeber counts Active subscribers (unsubscribes excluded), Klaviyo counts Active profiles only (excludes suppressed) and MailerLite counts Active subscribers. Omnisend counts All contacts including non-subscribers. Export your list and count how many addresses are unsubscribed, bounced or long dormant before you compare prices, because on a per contact plan that number is money every month.

What does a free email marketing plan actually cap?

Free plans cap on contacts, on sends, on features, or on all three, and which cap bites first depends on how you mail. Mailchimp's free plan is Yes (250 contacts, 500 sends /mo), Klaviyo's is Yes (250 profiles, 500 emails /mo) and MailerLite's is Yes (250 subscribers, 2,500 emails /mo). Kit's is Yes (10K subscribers, 1 automation, no A/B), a contact capped shape, while Brevo's is Yes (300 emails /day, unlimited contacts), a send capped one. Several vendors offer a trial rather than a free tier: ActiveCampaign is No (14-day trial) and Campaign Monitor is No (30-day free trial).

How much does the price rise as your list grows?

Faster than the entry column suggests, because every entry price is quoted for a small starting list. The starting plans sit close together: Brevo $8/mo (Starter), Transpond $9.90/mo (Starter), MailerLite $10.80/mo (Comfort), Constant Contact $12/mo (Lite), AWeber $12.50/mo (Lite), Campaign Monitor $13/mo (Lite) and Mailchimp $13/mo (Essentials). Each of those steps up a tier as you add contacts or sends. HubSpot is priced on a different axis again, at $20/seat/mo (Starter): Per seat, plus marketing contacts in blocks of 1,000. Run the calculator at your actual list size rather than reading the entry column.

Is marketing automation included on the entry plan?

Usually only in a basic form, which is the most common surprise on the first upgrade bill. ActiveCampaign's automation is Advanced (Plus+); Basic (Starter), Mailchimp's is Basic (Essentials), Advanced (Standard+), MailerLite's is Basic (Comfort), Advanced (Power) and Omnisend's is Advanced (Pro); Basic (Standard). Campaign Monitor's is Throttled on Lite (limited to its send allowance), unlimited on Essentials, and Klaviyo's is Advanced (flows, triggers, predictive on every paid plan). If the workflow you are buying the tool for sits on the second tier, price the second tier, not the entry one, because that is the plan you will actually be on.

What does CAN-SPAM require from a commercial email?

CAN-SPAM is the US federal rule for commercial email, and it is an opt-out regime: you do not need prior consent to send, unlike some other markets. It requires accurate header and routing information, a subject line that is not deceptive, a valid physical postal address in every commercial message, a clear way to opt out, and that you honor opt-outs promptly. Penalties are assessed per email, so one non-compliant send to a large list is not one violation. Every platform in this comparison supplies the tooling: ActiveCampaign lists Yes (unsubscribe, sender ID, address footer). This is general information, not legal advice.

Does complying with CAN-SPAM mean your email reaches the inbox?

No. Gmail, Yahoo and Microsoft enforce their own bulk sender requirements on top of the law, and failing those gets you filtered or blocked whatever the law says. In practice that means authenticating your sending domain with SPF, DKIM and DMARC, offering one-click unsubscribe in the message headers, and keeping spam complaints under the threshold each mailbox provider publishes. Your platform supplies the tooling: Spreeflo lists Yes (double opt-in, unsubscribe, SPF/DKIM/DMARC domain auth) and Transpond lists Unsubscribe, list cleaning, domain authentication. Measured inbox placement differs too, with ActiveCampaign at Very high (94% in independent tests) and Mailchimp at High (89% in independent tests).

Browse all Email Marketing in our directory

Popular Email Marketing comparisons

Independent, side by side breakdowns of the matchups merchants ask about most.

MailerLite vs MailchimpAn independent US comparison of MailerLite and Mailchimp, two platforms that share a pricing model and a near-identical entry price, on what each one counts as a billable contact, what the free plans really allow, segmentation, SMS and integrations.View comparisonBrevo vs MailchimpAn independent US comparison of Brevo and Mailchimp on live pricing, send-based versus contact-based billing, free plan limits, automation, segmentation and SMS, so you can see which platform is genuinely cheaper for your list.View comparisonKit vs MailchimpAn independent US comparison of Kit and Mailchimp on live pricing, what each free plan actually allows, automation, segmentation and design, so you can see which email platform fits a creator audience and which fits a business.View comparisonActiveCampaign vs MailchimpAn independent US comparison of ActiveCampaign and Mailchimp on real pricing, automation depth, AI, deliverability, billing model and ease of use, so you can see which email marketing platform actually fits your business.View comparisonKlaviyo vs MailchimpAn independent US comparison of Klaviyo and Mailchimp for ecommerce and for email marketing: what each entry plan includes, how each one counts a contact, automation, Shopify depth, US SMS and CAN-SPAM tooling, with live pricing in the table.View comparisonMailchimp vs Constant ContactAn independent US comparison of Mailchimp and Constant Contact on real pricing, free plan versus phone support, automation, SMS and deliverability, so you can see which email marketing platform fits your business and your list.View comparison

Best Email Marketing for your business

Ranked picks for specific business types, with our live cost calculator.

Email Marketing pricing guides

What each provider actually charges, plan by plan, with cheaper alternatives.

Email Marketing alternatives

Ranked alternatives to the providers merchants are weighing up, with our live cost calculator.

Not sure which email marketing platform is right for your business?

Our team can help you evaluate your options based on your subscriber volume, automation needs, e-commerce platform, and whether you need SMS marketing.