Independent guideAll prices in USDPrices checked

Remote Pricing 2026: Payroll, EOR and Contractor Costs

Remote publishes a price for each product. US payroll costs $29 per employee per month with a base fee of $0, Employer of Record costs $699 per employee per month, and contractor management carries a per-contractor fee. Remote also states that payroll carries an implementation fee and a payroll delivery fee, and publishes neither.

Independent guide by SMBCompare. How we compare

Remote plans and pricing

Plans and pricing checked September 2026. Prices shown in US dollars.

Payroll$29/emp/mo
  • Managed payroll for staff employed by your own US entity, per employee per month
  • No monthly base fee
  • Federal and state tax handling and state registrations
  • An implementation fee and a payroll delivery fee apply and are not published
Employer of Record$699/emp/mo
  • Remote employs your hire through its own entity in a country where you have none
  • Per employee per month, published as a firm figure
  • Local payroll, statutory filings and benefits run by Remote as the legal employer
  • Not comparable with the per-employee payroll fee: it buys a legal employer
Contractor Management$29/contractor
  • For contractors you engage under your own entity, per contractor per month
  • A higher tier adds indemnity cover for misclassification
  • Contractor of Record, where Remote is the engaging entity, is priced separately
  • 1099 generation and distribution for US contractors

How Remote compares on price

ProviderPer-employee fee /mo
Remote$29/emp/mo
Deel$29/emp/mo
Payoneer Workforce ManagementQuote
Gusto$6/emp/mo

Estimate Remote at your numbers

Enter your business details to see what Remote and the alternatives would cost you. Prices are live from our database and shown in US dollars.

4 ProvidersRemote logoRemoteDeel logoDeelPayoneer Workforce Management logoPayoneer Workforce ManagementGusto logoGusto
Est. Cost /mo (USD)$116/moCheapest$116/moCheapest$73/mo
Ratings
4.5G2 (3,900+)4.8G2 (13,922)4.6G2 (130+)4.6Capterra (4,000+)
Costs & Pricing
$29/emp/mo$29/emp/moQuoteBest$6/emp/mo
$0$0Quote$49/mo
NoNoNoNo
Yes (global)Yes (global)Yes (global)Contractors only
$699/emp/mo$599/emp/mo$199/emp/mo (from)
Yes ($29/contractor)Yes ($49/contractor)Yes (from $19)Yes
Not statedNoNot statedNo
Tax & Compliance
YesYesNo (EOR only)Yes
YesYesNoYes
1099 onlyYesNot statedYes
Not statedYesNot statedYes
YesYesNoYes (Plus)
Not statedYesNot statedYes
YesYesYesYes
Yes (paid tier)YesYes (AOR)No
YesYesYesNo
Not statedYesNot statedLimited
AI
Native (payroll AI)Native + add-ons (Deel AI, Akai agents)Limited (compliance automation)Native (Gus AI assistant, basic)
Native MCP (official)Native MCP (official)API onlyVia 3rd-party (Zapier)
Features & Integrations
YesYesYesYes
YesYesYes (via EOR)Yes
Not statedYesYesYes (Plus)
QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuiteQuickBooks, Xero, NetSuiteLimitedQuickBooks, Xero
Dedicated specialist24/724x5Phone + chat
Estimates based on 4 employees. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists. A figure marked “from” is the vendor’s starting price, so it keeps its place in price order but is never badged as the cheapest.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

What Remote costs

Remote publishes a price for each thing it sells, which puts it in the minority of global employment platforms. US payroll, for staff employed by your own entity, costs $29/emp/mo with a base fee of $0. Employer of Record, where Remote employs your overseas hire through its own entity, costs $699/emp/mo. Contractor management is listed as Yes ($29/contractor).

Plans and pricing checked September 2026, and every figure on this page is read live from our database.

The two fees Remote states but does not price

On the same pricing page that publishes the per-employee payroll figure, Remote states that the payroll product also carries an implementation fee, to set up your entities, and a recurring payroll delivery fee. It publishes neither. That is the one thing to hold onto when reading the table above: Remote's payroll row is the published part of the bill, and the real bill for a business running its own US payroll through Remote is that figure plus two numbers a salesperson gives you.

It is a smaller caveat than a fully quoted platform, because the per-employee price is public and the two extras are named. But it means a like-for-like comparison against a rival that publishes a base fee and a per-employee fee and nothing else is not quite like-for-like until you have asked.

Payroll, Employer of Record and contractors are three different purchases

The three published prices buy three different things, and the gap between them is the point rather than a quirk. The payroll fee is for people your own US entity employs: Remote runs the pay run, handles federal and state tax and registers you in new states, with full-service filing reading Yes and multi-state reading Yes.

The Employer of Record fee is for people you cannot employ yourself, because you have no entity in their country. Remote becomes their legal employer through an entity it owns, runs their local payroll and statutory contributions, and administers their benefits, with benefits administration reading Yes. The price is per employee per month and is published as a firm figure, which is the thing to compare against Deel's and Payoneer's figures below.

The contractor fee is for contractors you engage under your own entity. Remote handles contracts, invoicing and payouts, publishes 1099 generation for US contractors, and its misclassification protection row records the tier that adds indemnity cover: Yes (paid tier). Contractor of Record, where Remote rather than you is the engaging entity, is a separate product with its own price.

What the table marks limited or not stated

Some rows on this page record only what Remote publishes, and each is worth knowing before a quote rather than after. Remote publishes 1099 generation and distribution for contractors and says nothing about W-2s for your own employees, so the W-2 and 1099 row reads 1099 only. Time tracking reads Not stated, workers compensation reads Not stated, and contract terms read Not stated.

Who Remote suits

Remote's target market reads US + global / cross-border teams, and the product matches it: a US business with people in more than one country that wants an owned-entity Employer of Record with a published price, plus US payroll in the same system. Global coverage reads Yes (global), immigration support reads Yes, and support runs as Dedicated specialist. Remote also ships an official MCP server, which its AI integration row records as Native MCP (official).

It is a weaker fit for a single-state US employer with nobody abroad. That business pays the per-employee figure plus two unpublished fees for a payroll product whose reason to exist is global reach, and the comparison table below prices the domestic rivals that publish their whole bill. If your people abroad are contractors rather than employees, our guide to the best payroll software for contractors ranks Remote against the same rivals on that job.

How Remote compares with Deel, Payoneer and Gusto

Deel is the closest rival, and the two publish the same shape of price list. Deel's US payroll fee is $29/emp/mo with a base fee of $0, and its Employer of Record fee is $599/emp/mo, published as a firm figure like Remote's. Deel's payroll row carries no stated implementation or delivery fee.

Payoneer Workforce Management publishes its Employer of Record price as a starting figure, listed at $199/emp/mo (from), and sells no US domestic payroll: its filing row reads No (EOR only). Against Remote it is a floor against a list price, and a global-only product against one that also runs US payroll.

Gusto is the domestic comparison. It charges a base fee of $49/mo plus $6/emp/mo, publishes the whole ladder, and its global row reads Contractors only. For a US-only team it is the one whose entire bill you can see on this page.

The live comparison table above costs all four at your own headcount. Remote's line is its published per-employee price, so treat it as the part of the bill you can see and ask for the rest.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Remote cost?

Remote publishes a price per product. US payroll is $29 per employee per month with a base fee of $0, Employer of Record is $699 per employee per month, and contractor management carries a per-contractor monthly fee shown in the comparison table on this page. Remote's pricing page also states that payroll carries an implementation fee to set up your entities and a recurring payroll delivery fee, and publishes neither, so the per-employee figure is the published part of the bill rather than the whole of it. The payroll fee covers Remote running the pay run, handling tax and filings and registering you where it needs to for staff your own entity employs. The Employer of Record fee covers Remote employing the person through its own entity abroad, with local payroll, contributions and benefits included. The contractor fee covers contracts, invoicing and payouts for people you engage yourself, and a higher tier adds indemnity cover.

Does Remote charge a monthly base fee?

Not for US payroll: the base fee on this page reads $0, and the published price is the per-employee figure. What Remote does state is a one-off implementation fee and a recurring payroll delivery fee on top of the per-employee price, without publishing either. So a small team pays the per-employee figure times its headcount plus two fees it has to ask for, which is a different shape from a rival that charges a published base fee and nothing else.

What does Remote's Employer of Record cost?

Remote publishes its Employer of Record price at $699 per employee per month, as a firm figure rather than a starting price. Employer of Record means Remote employs the person through its own entity in their country and runs local payroll, statutory contributions and benefits as the legal employer, so it is a different product from the per-employee payroll fee and should not be compared with it. Remote owns the entities it employs through rather than working through partners.

How does Remote compare with Deel on price?

The two publish comparable figures, and the comparison table on this page shows both live. On Employer of Record, Remote publishes $699 and Deel publishes $599 per employee per month. On US payroll both charge no base fee and publish a per-employee price, but Remote states an implementation fee and a payroll delivery fee that it does not publish, which Deel's payroll row does not carry. Use the calculator above to cost both at your own headcount, then ask Remote for the two unpublished fees before deciding. The two Employer of Record fees buy the same thing, a legal employer in a country where you have no entity, through entities each provider owns, so that comparison is direct. The payroll comparison is not quite direct until Remote has told you its two unpublished fees, because the per-employee figure is the visible part of its bill and Deel publishes no equivalent charge.

Does Remote have a free plan or a free trial?

There is no free payroll plan: the free tier row reads No. Remote does describe its HR platform as free to use, but that is the HR system for records and time off, not payroll, Employer of Record or contractor management, each of which is priced. There is no published trial for the paid products.

Does Remote file W-2s and 1099s?

Remote publishes automated 1099 generation and distribution for contractors, and its W-2 and 1099 row on this page reads 1099 only: it says nothing anywhere about filing W-2s for your own employees, so this page records the half Remote publishes rather than rounding it up. Federal and state filing for your own staff reads Yes, and multi-state payroll reads Yes.

How does SMBCompare keep Remote pricing up to date?

We are independent and not owned by any provider. The plan prices on this page are pulled live from our database, last checked September 4, 2026, and the calculator estimates your real cost at your own numbers. See How we compare for our full method.

Keep exploring

Head to head

More pricing guides