12 providersAll prices in USDPrices checked

Compare Payroll Software in the United States

Compare payroll software for US businesses. See per-employee costs, full-service federal and state tax filing, W-2 and 1099 filing, new-hire reporting, multi-state payroll, direct deposit, and accounting integrations side by side.

Updated
Filters
Ratings
4.8Capterra (3,500+)4.6GetApp (1,150)4.8Capterra (440+)4.6Capterra (4,000+)4.4Capterra (900+)4.8G2 (5,000+)4.8G2 (13,922)4.5Capterra (43)4.5G2 (3,900+)4.6G2 (130+)4.5Capterra (3,200+)4.3Capterra (1,700+)
Costs & Pricing
Best$5/emp/mo$6/emp/mo$6/emp/mo$6/emp/mo$7/emp/moFrom $12/user/mo$29/emp/mo$29/emp/mo (Payroll Plus)$29/emp/moQuoteQuoteQuote
$37/mo$49/mo$49/mo$49/mo$50/mo$35/mo$0$0$0QuoteQuoteQuote
✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕
✕✕✕Contractors only✕Add-on (own entities or EOR)✓global✓global✓global✓global✓✓
—————Quote$599/emp/mo$499/emp/mo (from)$699/emp/mo$199/emp/mo (from)——
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓$49/contractor✓from $5✓$29/contractor✓from $19✓✓
✕✕✕✕✕Annual✕AnnualNot statedNot statedAnnualAnnual
Tax & Compliance
✓Full Service✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✕EOR only✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✕✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not stated1099 onlyNot stated✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not statedNot statedNot stated✓✓
✓✓✓✓Plus✓✓✓✓✓✕✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not statedNot statedNot stated✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓next-day✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
✕✕✕✕✕✓✓✓✓paid tier✓AOR✕✕
✕✕✕✕✕✓✓✓✓✓Limited✕
✕Limited✕Limited✕✓✓✓Not statedNot stated✕✕
AI
✕Native (hiring, scheduling, onboarding)Limited (rules-based automation)Native (Gus AI assistant, basic)Native (Intuit Assist)Native (Rippling AI)Native + add-ons (Deel AI, Akai agents)Native (payroll validation)Native (payroll AI)Limited (compliance automation)Native (ADP Assist)Native (Paychex AI analytics)
✕API only✕Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (Intuit, early preview)Via 3rd-party (StackOne/community)Native MCP (official)API onlyNative MCP (official)API onlyVia 3rd-party (Zapier)API only
Features & Integrations
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
LimitedLimited✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓via EOR✓✓
✓add-on✓Limited✓Plus✓✓✓✓Not stated✓✓✓
QuickBooks, PatriotQuickBooksQuickBooks, XeroQuickBooks, XeroQuickBooks (native)QuickBooks, Xero, moreQuickBooks, Xero, NetSuiteNetSuite, SAP, WorkdayQuickBooks, Xero, NetSuiteLimitedQuickBooks, Xero, moreQuickBooks, Xero, Sage
US supportChat, phoneUS phonePhone + chatPhone + chatOnline24/724/7 supportDedicated specialist24x524/7 phone24/7 + specialist
Estimates based on 4 employees. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on. Estimates cover the base fee plus per-employee costs at your team size. Where payroll needs a separate accounting subscription, that subscription is included. Providers that do not publish a price show Get quote.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists. A figure marked “from” is the vendor’s starting price, so it keeps its place in price order but is never badged as the cheapest.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • US payroll software bills a monthly base fee plus a charge per employee. Gusto pairs $49/mo with $6/emp/mo, and Patriot Software pairs $37/mo with $5/emp/mo.
  • One remote hire in a new state means registering for withholding and unemployment insurance there. Multi-state payroll is tier gated on some vendors: Gusto lists Yes (Plus) and OnPay Yes.
  • An Employer of Record is a different product at a different price. Deel lists $599/emp/mo and Remote $699/emp/mo. If everyone you pay works in the US, you do not need it.

How we compare payroll software

We list 12 payroll platforms sold to US employers, and a published rate card exists for 9 providers. Where a vendor quotes instead of publishing, the table says so. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page.

The calculator takes your headcount and applies each vendor's published base fee and per-employee rate at that size, picking the plan that covers it where a vendor sells several. Enter what you pay today and it shows the difference. Commission does not change the order.

Base fee plus per employee: the two halves of a payroll software bill

Most published rate cards here charge in two parts: a fixed monthly fee and a charge for each person on the run. A few charge per person only. The two halves swap places as you grow: on a team of five the base fee is often most of the bill, at a hundred people the per-employee rate is the whole negotiation.

ProviderMonthly base feePer-employee fee /mo
ADPQuoteQuote
Deel$0$29/emp/mo
Gusto$49/mo$6/emp/mo
Homebase$49/mo$6/emp/mo
OnPay$49/mo$6/emp/mo
Papaya Global$0$29/emp/mo (Payroll Plus)
Patriot Software$37/mo$5/emp/mo
PaychexQuoteQuote
Payoneer Workforce ManagementQuoteQuote
QuickBooks Online$50/mo$7/emp/mo
Remote$0$29/emp/mo
Rippling$35/moFrom $12/user/mo

A base fee of zero is not the same as cheap: on this table the rows with no base fee charge more per head, so compare the total at your own headcount. Modules are where a headline figure stops predicting an invoice: if time tracking or benefits administration is the reason you are shopping, price the tier that carries it.

ProviderContract requiredTime tracking
ADPAnnualYes
DeelNoYes
GustoNoYes (Plus)
HomebaseNoYes
OnPayNoLimited
Papaya GlobalAnnualYes
Patriot SoftwareNoYes (add-on)
PaychexAnnualYes
Payoneer Workforce ManagementNot statedYes
QuickBooks OnlineNoYes
RemoteNot statedNot stated
RipplingAnnualYes

At a couple of hundred employees the published rate is an opening position anyway, so get the per-head figure and every module quoted as one annual number.

Quote-only payroll software: what to ask ADP and Paychex

ADP and Paychex do not publish a rate card for small business payroll, so any price quoted for either on a third-party site is somebody's old deal. What you can do is make their quote comparable to the published side of this table.

Ask for the per-employee rate at your actual headcount. Not a range, and not the rate at a size you might reach later.

Ask whether the quote is per pay period or per month. A weekly payroll runs more than twice as many cycles a year as a semi-monthly one.

Ask about year-end form fees. Some agreements price W-2 and 1099 production per form on top of the monthly fee.

Ask for the setup fee and the renewal price. An introductory rate that steps up at renewal is normal here; compare the second-year number.

Multi-state payroll software and the cost of one remote hire

There is no national payroll scheme. Each state sets its own withholding rules and runs its own unemployment insurance program, with its own employer account and a contribution rate assigned to your business, and some allow city or county taxes underneath. So hiring one remote employee in a new state is a registration, not a payroll change: you generally need a withholding account and an unemployment insurance account there before the first check clears, and the obligation attaches to where the employee works.

ProviderMulti-state payroll
ADPYes
DeelYes
GustoYes (Plus)
HomebaseYes
OnPayYes
Papaya GlobalYes
Patriot SoftwareYes
PaychexYes
Payoneer Workforce ManagementNo
QuickBooks OnlineYes
RemoteYes
RipplingYes

Where a row names a plan, your first out-of-state hire is a plan upgrade rather than a checkbox. Ask whether an additional state adds a recurring monthly charge, a line often absent from the pricing page and present on the invoice, and whether the provider registers you in the new state or only files once you have obtained the account numbers yourself.

W-2, 1099-NEC, 940 and 941: which forms your payroll software files

Payroll filing in the US is a calendar. Form 941 is the quarterly federal return for wages, withheld income tax and both halves of FICA. Form 940 is the annual federal unemployment tax return. W-2s go to each employee and to the Social Security Administration after year end. 1099-NEC goes to each unincorporated contractor you paid above the reporting threshold. State withholding returns and unemployment insurance wage reports sit on top.

Full-service filing means the provider submits those and remits the money rather than handing you the numbers. On a self-file tier you get correct numbers and every deadline stays yours, penalties included.

ProviderFull-service tax filingW-2 & 1099 filing
ADPYesYes
DeelYesYes
GustoYesYes
HomebaseYesYes
OnPayYesYes
Papaya GlobalYesNot stated
Patriot SoftwareYes (Full Service)Yes
PaychexYesYes
Payoneer Workforce ManagementNo (EOR only)Not stated
QuickBooks OnlineYesYes
RemoteYes1099 only
RipplingYesYes

Ask whether the provider carries a tax penalty guarantee and what it covers. One that pays only when the provider itself made the error is a narrower promise than it sounds.

Workers' compensation through payroll software

Coverage requirements are set state by state, so confirm your own state's rule with a licensed broker rather than a software vendor's summary. What the payroll connection changes is the mechanism: a conventional policy is priced up front from projected payroll and audited at the end of the term, which is how an employer gets an unexpected bill in a year it grew, while pay-as-you-go calculates the premium from actual wages each run, so the year-end adjustment tends to be small.

ProviderWorkers comp
ADPYes
DeelYes
GustoYes
HomebaseYes
OnPayYes
Papaya GlobalNot stated
Patriot SoftwareYes
PaychexYes
Payoneer Workforce ManagementNot stated
QuickBooks OnlineYes
RemoteNot stated
RipplingYes

Before you treat that row as settled, ask whether the vendor is the broker or an integration with an insurer you already have, who assigns the classification codes, and whether the policy is portable if you switch payroll later.

Contractors and the Employer of Record option in payroll software

Paying someone as a contractor means no withholding and a 1099-NEC at year end rather than a W-2, and the classification test is a legal question, not a preference. On the billing side, ask whether contractors count as chargeable heads on your plan and whether their year-end filing is included.

ProviderContractor payments
ADPYes
DeelYes ($49/contractor)
GustoYes
HomebaseYes
OnPayYes
Papaya GlobalYes (from $5)
Patriot SoftwareYes
PaychexYes
Payoneer Workforce ManagementYes (from $19)
QuickBooks OnlineYes
RemoteYes ($29/contractor)
RipplingYes

If you are paying someone who lives and works in another country, you are usually not buying US payroll software at all. An Employer of Record hires the person through its own local entity, handles that country's payroll and tax, and bills you per employee per month.

ProviderEmployer of Record /moMisclassification protection
Deel$599/emp/moYes
Papaya Globalfrom $499/emp/moYes
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199/emp/moYes (AOR)
Remote$699/emp/moYes (paid tier)
RipplingQuoteYes

Read those platforms in the other direction too: Payoneer Workforce Management lists full-service filing as No (EOR only) and multi-state payroll as No, so it is not a substitute for domestic payroll. If everyone you pay works in the United States, you do not need any of this yet.

Frequently asked questions

How much does payroll software cost for a small business in the US?

Almost every US payroll platform charges a monthly base fee plus a per-employee fee, and you pay both. Gusto's entry plan is $49/mo plus $6/emp/mo, OnPay is $49/mo plus $6/emp/mo, Patriot Software's Full Service tier is $37/mo plus $5/emp/mo, and QuickBooks is $50/mo plus $7/emp/mo. Because the second half scales with headcount, platforms that look close on the base fee are not close at thirty people. ADP and Paychex quote rather than publish.

How much does QuickBooks payroll cost?

QuickBooks payroll is listed at $50/mo plus $7/emp/mo on the plan we track. Federal, state and local tax filing is included, as is W-2 and 1099 e-filing, and higher tiers add faster direct deposit and QuickBooks Time. Intuit discounts the first months on new signups, so the introductory rate is not the ongoing rate; compare the list price. The real reason to choose it is that payroll posts straight into QuickBooks accounting. If your books live elsewhere, that advantage disappears and the price stands on its own.

Why do ADP and Paychex not publish a price?

Both quote instead of publishing: ADP's per-employee fee shows as Quote and Paychex's as Quote, because the rate depends on headcount, pay frequency, how many states you run, and which modules you take. That is useful to know rather than a reason to exclude them, but it changes how you compare. Ask for the cost per pay run at your real pay frequency, the per-employee fee, setup and year-end form charges, and the term. Both are sold on an annual contract, where the published-rate platforms bill monthly.

Who files my W-2, 1099, 940 and 941 forms?

On a full-service plan the payroll provider files them for you: quarterly Form 941, annual Form 940, year-end W-2s for employees and 1099s for contractors, plus the matching state filings. Gusto, OnPay, QuickBooks, Rippling, ADP and Paychex all run full-service filing on the plans listed here. Patriot Software is the split case, and its full-service column reads Yes (Full Service), because its cheaper Basic tier calculates payroll and leaves the filing to you. The employer stays responsible for the deposits, so confirm each filing actually posted.

How does pay-as-you-go workers' compensation through a payroll provider work?

Pay-as-you-go calculates the workers' compensation premium from the actual wages in each pay run and remits it with that run, instead of you paying an estimated annual premium up front and settling the difference at an audit later. The payroll system already holds the wage and job classification data the calculation needs, which is why providers offer it. ADP, Gusto, OnPay, Patriot Software, Paychex, QuickBooks and Rippling all show pay-as-you-go workers' comp. The policy still comes from an insurer and the premium is not part of the software fee, so compare the premium and the class codes separately.

What happens to my payroll when I hire an employee in another state?

Hiring one employee in a new state normally creates obligations in that state: you register for income tax withholding, open a state unemployment insurance account, and then file and deposit on that state's schedule. The trigger is where the employee works, not where the company is registered, which is the part that surprises US buyers most often. Platforms differ in how they handle it. Some include every state in the price, some gate multi-state payroll to a higher plan, and some charge per additional state, so check the multi-state column before you hire remotely.

What does payroll cost at 250 employees?

At that headcount the per-employee fee is almost the whole bill and the base fee stops mattering. The gap between Patriot Software at $5/emp/mo and Rippling at From $12/user/mo reads as trivial per head and is not trivial across a workforce that size, which is the opposite of how the entry price makes the comparison look. ADP and Paychex quote at any size, and most providers will negotiate at this scale, sometimes per pay run rather than per month. Run the calculator with your real headcount and pay frequency.

What is not included in the monthly payroll price?

The base and per-employee fees cover running payroll and filing taxes, not the benefits attached to it. Workers' compensation premiums, health insurance premiums and 401(k) provider fees are separate and go to the insurer or plan provider rather than the payroll company. Time tracking is often an add-on too: Patriot Software's time tracking column reads Yes (add-on), and ADP sells its time module separately. Some providers also charge for year-end forms, off-cycle runs, or each extra state. Ask for the all-in figure at your headcount, not the plan price.

Browse all Payroll Software in our directory

Popular Payroll Software comparisons

Independent, side by side breakdowns of the matchups merchants ask about most.

Best Payroll Software for your business

Ranked picks for specific business types, with our live cost calculator.

Payroll Software pricing guides

What each provider actually charges, plan by plan, with cheaper alternatives.

Not sure which payroll software is right for your business?

Our team can help you evaluate your options based on your team size, federal and state tax filing, multi-state payroll, and whether you want HR built in.