12 providersAll prices in USDPrices checked

Compare HR Software in the United States

Compare HR software for small business in the US. See per-employee pricing, I-9 / E-Verify and ACA compliance, multi-state support, benefits administration, native payroll, onboarding, and employee self-service side by side.

Updated
Staff overseas?
Filters
Connecteam logoConnecteamHomebase logoHomebaseDeel logoDeelGusto logoGustoBambooHR logoBambooHRRippling logoRipplingJustworks logoJustworksPayoneer Workforce Management logoPayoneer Workforce ManagementMultiplier logoMultiplierPapaya Global logoPapaya GlobalOyster HR logoOyster HRADP logoADP
Est. Cost /mo (USD)$29/moHR & Skills Hub (Basic)Cheapest$30/mo+ per locationEssentials$125/moCore HR$199/moSimple$250/moCore (25 or fewer)$335/moHR$1,975/moPEO Basic
Visit Deel
Visit Gusto
Visit ADP
Ratings
4.6GetApp (5,298)4.6GetApp (1,150)4.8G2 (13,922)4.6Capterra (4,100)4.6Capterra (3,000+)4.8G2 (8,000+)4.6Capterra (760)4.6G2 (130+)4.4GetApp (44)4.5Capterra (43)4.6GetApp (91)4.5Capterra (3,100+)
Costs & Pricing
$0.50/user/mo above 30Best$0/emp/mo$5/emp/mo$6/emp/moFrom $10.25/emp/moFrom $12/user/mo$79-$124/emp/moQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuote
$29/mo (Basic)$30/mo$0$49/mo$0$35/mo✕base fee (PEO)QuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuote
$29/mo$30/moNone$49/mo$250/mo$35/mo✕base feeQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuote
Per hub: flat for the first 30 users, then per userPer location (unlimited employees)Per-employee (no minimum) + modular payrollBase fee + per employeePer-employee published ($250/mo min under 25 emp)Base fee + per user (published floor)Published PEO PEPM (Basic $79 / Plus $124/emp/mo)EOR (quote for HR)EOR (quote for HR)QuoteEOR (quote for HR)Quote-only PEPM + per-payroll-run fees
✓up to 10 employees✓1 location, up to 10 employees✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕
✕✕✕✕AnnualAnnualMonthlyNot stated✕✓✕minimumAnnual
US Compliance & Payroll
Not statedI-9 only✓✓✓✓✓Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated✓
Not statedNot stated✓✓✓add-on✓✓Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated✓
Not stated✓add-on✓✓✓add-on✓✓Not statedNot stated✓Via PEO✓
✕integrationNative (add-on)Native (US + global)Native (US)Native (add-on)Native (US)Native (US)Via EOR✕global payroll only, by quoteNative (US + global)Via EOR / PEONative (US)
✕Limited✓✓✓add-on✓✓large-group✓via EOR✓✓✓✓
✕✕✓PEO✕✕✓✓✕✕✓PEO✓PEO✓TotalSource
Not stated✓✓✓Via integration✓✓Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated✓
✓✓All-in-One✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
✓✓Plus✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
✓Operations Hub✓✓✓✓add-on✓✓add-on✓Not stated✓✓✓
LimitedLimited✓Advanced+✓✓✓LimitedNot statedNot stated✕Not stated✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not stated✓
✕✕✓150+ countries✓contractors✕Add-on (own entities or EOR)✓EOR✓EOR, AOR and contractors in 160+ countries; payroll in 70+ currencies✓EOR in 160+ countries✓160+ countries✓EOR in 120+ countries, contractors in 180+✓
——$599/emp/moQuote—QuoteQuote$199/emp/mo (from)$499/emp/mo (from)$499/emp/mo (from)$699/emp/moQuote
AI
Native (AI course creator)Native (hiring, scheduling, onboarding)Native + add-ons (Deel AI, Akai agents)Native (Gus AI assistant, basic)Native (Ask BambooHR / AI)Native (Rippling AI)LimitedLimited (compliance automation)Not statedNative (payroll validation)Native (Oyster AI)Native (ADP Assist)
API only (Expert and above)API onlyNative MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Via 3rd-party (community)Via 3rd-party (StackOne)API onlyAPI onlyNot statedAPI onlyAPI onlyVia 3rd-party (community)
Features & Integrations
✓✓All-in-One✓✓✓✓✓✓Not stated✓✓✓
✕✓PlusAdd-onVia integration✓✓Via integration✕✕✕Via integration✓
✓✕✓Advanced+LimitedVia integration✓✕✕✕✕✕✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not statedNot stated✓Not stated✓
QBO, Gusto, ADP, ZapierQBO, Gusto, Square, ToastQBO, NetSuite, XeroQBO, Xero, 200+QBO, Xero, 125+QBO, NetSuite, 600+QBO, Xero, SlackNot itemisedBambooHR, HiBobNetSuite, SAP, WorkdayXero, QBO, BambooHRQBO, Xero, 600+
24h chat, emailChat, phone24/7Phone, chat, emailEmail, chatOnline24/724x524/5 (EOR)24/7 supportNot stated24/7
Estimates based on 25 employees. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on. Estimates use each provider's published plan at your team size: a per-employee rate, a flat fee, or a monthly minimum, which holds until your team is large enough to pass it. A cost marked + per location covers one site, so multiply it for more. Answering Yes to Staff overseas shows only providers that employ people abroad themselves, each costed on its published Employer of Record price per person. Providers that do not publish a price show Get quote. Enter your current monthly cost to see your savings against each provider.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists. A figure marked “from” is the vendor’s starting price, so it keeps its place in price order but is never badged as the cheapest. A “+ per location” tag means the provider charges for each extra site or warehouse and that charge is not in the figure, so the real cost is higher if you have more than one.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • This table mixes businesses that are not substitutes. Justworks is a PEO at $79-$124/emp/mo covering payroll, benefits and compliance under co-employment. Gusto is software you run at $49/mo plus $6/emp/mo.
  • Headcount does not drive every bill. Homebase prices per location at $30/mo with $0/emp/mo, Connecteam per hub at $29/mo (Basic), and Deel per employee at $5/emp/mo.
  • A published per-employee rate is a rate, not a floor. BambooHR lists From $10.25/emp/mo against a minimum of $250/mo, so a small team pays the minimum, not the multiplication.

How we compare HR software

We list 12 HR platforms sold to US small businesses, and a published rate card exists for 7 providers. Where a vendor quotes instead, the table shows a quote. Every published figure comes from the vendor's own US pricing page.

The calculator asks for employees and, separately, staff overseas. Domestic headcount prices each provider's plan on the axis it bills, per employee, per location or per hub, and staff overseas are costed at the provider's published Employer of Record rate where it has one. The table sorts by the monthly estimate. Commission does not change the order.

PEO, HRIS, shift tool or EOR: four things an HR software table sells

Settle this before you look at a price, because a cost per employee per month means something different in each group. A PEO, a Professional Employer Organization, enters a co-employment relationship with you and takes on payroll and much of compliance. An HRIS leaves you as the employer: the software holds records, runs onboarding and in several cases runs payroll. A shift tool is scheduling, a time clock and messaging for hourly workers. An Employer of Record employs someone in another country on your behalf.

ProviderPEO optionNative payroll
ADPYes (TotalSource)Native (US)
BambooHRNoNative (add-on)
ConnecteamNoNo (integration)
DeelYes (PEO)Native (US + global)
GustoNoNative (US)
HomebaseNoNative (add-on)
JustworksYesNative (US)
MultiplierNoNo (global payroll only, by quote)
Oyster HRYes (PEO)Via EOR / PEO
Papaya GlobalYes (PEO)Native (US + global)
Payoneer Workforce ManagementNoVia EOR
RipplingYesNative (US)

Homebase and Connecteam are the shift tools here. Work out which group you are shopping in first; the price columns are not comparable across them.

Co-employment: what a PEO does that ordinary HR software cannot

Under a PEO arrangement your employees are reported under the PEO's federal employer identification number. The PEO files employment taxes, sponsors the benefit plans, and carries a defined share of the compliance burden. You still hire, manage and fire. The pooling is the point: a PEO presents its whole client book to a carrier as one large group, which is how it reaches rates a small employer cannot access alone. Justworks is the row here that is a PEO outright rather than offering one: its benefits row reads Yes (large-group) and its contract row reads Monthly, and it lists time tracking as Yes (add-on), so some functions that look included in a demo are priced separately.

Ask any PEO what is bundled into the per-employee fee; what happens to your people if you leave, because coverage sponsored by the PEO ends when the arrangement ends; and whether it is a PEO or an ASO, since an administrative services organization does similar work without co-employment or the pooled insurance. A PEO earns its fee when benefits are your recruiting problem, or when you are spread across several states.

Health coverage and benefits, the job US HR software is bought for

What separates the rows is the relationship each product has with the coverage itself. Some give you access to plans they sponsor, which is the PEO model. Some administer plans you already hold, connecting enrollment and deductions to payroll without selling you insurance. Some offer partial cover or none.

ProviderBenefits administration
ADPYes
BambooHRYes (add-on)
ConnecteamNo
DeelYes
GustoYes
HomebaseLimited
JustworksYes (large-group)
MultiplierYes
Oyster HRYes
Papaya GlobalYes
Payoneer Workforce ManagementYes (via EOR)
RipplingYes

A row reading no or limited is not a failing; a scheduling tool is not trying to be your benefits platform. But if benefits administration is the workload you want to remove, it is a disqualification. Where the row reads yes, confirm whether the product acts as a broker earning commission on the plans it places, and whether your existing carriers are supported.

ACA, I-9 and fifty state rulebooks your HR software has to keep straight

American employment rules are a federal layer with fifty state layers on top, plus city and county rules in places. Once you become an applicable large employer, forms 1094-C and 1095-C are an annual obligation. Every new hire needs work authorization verified on a Form I-9, and E-Verify participation is mandatory for some employers and some states and voluntary for others.

ProviderACA complianceI-9 / E-Verify
ADPYesYes
BambooHRYes (add-on)Yes
ConnecteamNot statedNot stated
DeelYesYes
GustoYesYes
HomebaseNot statedI-9 only
JustworksYesYes
MultiplierNot statedNot stated
Oyster HRNot statedNot stated
Papaya GlobalNot statedNot stated
Payoneer Workforce ManagementNot statedNot stated
RipplingYesYes

Add-on means the capability follows a paid module rather than the core product. Not stated means the vendor does not say, not that the answer is no. Paid sick leave, vacation payout, final paycheck timing and notice requirements all vary by state, and an employee who moves house can change which rules apply.

ProviderMulti-state compliance
ADPYes
BambooHRYes (add-on)
ConnecteamNot stated
DeelYes
GustoYes
HomebaseYes (add-on)
JustworksYes
MultiplierNot stated
Oyster HRVia PEO
Papaya GlobalYes
Payoneer Workforce ManagementNot stated
RipplingYes

None of that makes any product compliant on your behalf, and nothing here is legal advice. Ask each vendor which of these obligations it performs, which it tracks, and which it hands back to you.

Per employee, per location or per hub: how HR software bills

The billing shape tells you more about your future bill than the headline figure. Per employee means hiring moves the bill. Per location means opening a second door moves it and hiring does not. Per hub means the time clock and the HR records can be separate subscriptions.

ProviderMonthly base feePer-employee fee /mo
ADPQuoteQuote
BambooHR$0From $10.25/emp/mo
Connecteam$29/mo (Basic)$0.50/user/mo above 30
Deel$0$5/emp/mo
Gusto$49/mo$6/emp/mo
Homebase$30/mo$0/emp/mo
JustworksNo base fee (PEO)$79-$124/emp/mo
MultiplierQuoteQuote
Oyster HRQuoteQuote
Papaya GlobalQuoteQuote
Payoneer Workforce ManagementQuoteQuote
Rippling$35/moFrom $12/user/mo

A minimum means a small team pays that figure instead of the multiplication, and an annual commitment changes what a bad first quarter costs you.

ProviderMinimum cost /moContract
ADPQuoteAnnual
BambooHR$250/moAnnual
Connecteam$29/moNo
DeelNoneNo
Gusto$49/moNo
Homebase$30/moNo
JustworksNo base feeMonthly
MultiplierQuoteNo
Oyster HRQuoteNo minimum
Papaya GlobalQuoteYes
Payoneer Workforce ManagementQuoteNot stated
Rippling$35/moAnnual

The Free plan row shows which providers have a free rung and what it covers.

Hiring abroad without an entity: EOR rates inside an HR software table

An Employer of Record is here because buyers arrive searching for HR software and discover they cannot legally pay the developer they just hired in another country. The EOR employs the person under local law and invoices you, and its rate is per employee per month on top of salary and local employer costs.

ProviderEmployer of Record /moGlobal/remote hiring
ADPQuoteYes
Deel$599/emp/moYes (150+ countries)
GustoQuoteYes (contractors)
JustworksQuoteYes (EOR)
Multiplierfrom $499/emp/moYes (EOR in 160+ countries)
Oyster HR$699/emp/moYes (EOR in 120+ countries, contractors in 180+)
Papaya Globalfrom $499/emp/moYes (160+ countries)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199/emp/moYes (EOR, AOR and contractors in 160+ countries; payroll in 70+ currencies)
RipplingQuoteAdd-on (own entities or EOR)

Before treating a headline EOR rate as your cost, check whether the country you need is covered at that rate, and ask what deposit or prepayment is required before the first employee starts. Check the Native payroll row if you hoped to run domestic payroll on the same vendor, because some deliberately do not. And ask whether the person should be an employee at all: contractor engagement is cheaper and faster, and it is where misclassification exposure lives in both countries. That is a question for counsel. For most small US employers this becomes relevant when you want to keep someone who has moved abroad, and the rate then competes with the cost of standing up a foreign entity.

Frequently asked questions

How much does HR software cost per employee in the US?

Most US HR platforms price per employee per month, sometimes on top of a base fee. Gusto is $49/mo plus $6/emp/mo, Rippling's stated starting figures are $12 per user a month plus $35 a month, with anything beyond them quoted, Deel's core HR is $5/emp/mo, and BambooHR is From $10.25/emp/mo with a floor of $250/mo for a small team. Two other shapes exist: Homebase prices per location at $30/mo, and Connecteam charges $29/mo (Basic) for its first block of users, then $0.50/user/mo above 30.

Why are the prices in this table not directly comparable?

Because four genuinely different products sit in this category and their prices measure different things. An HRIS such as BambooHR, Gusto or Rippling sells software you run yourself. A PEO such as Justworks becomes your co-employer and its $79-$124/emp/mo includes payroll, benefits and insurance, not just software. A frontline scheduling tool such as Homebase or Connecteam prices for hourly shift teams. An employer of record such as Deel, Multiplier, Oyster HR, Papaya Global or Payoneer Workforce Management charges to employ someone abroad on your behalf. Decide which of the four you need first.

What is a PEO and how is it priced?

A PEO enters a co-employment arrangement with you: it becomes the employer of record for payroll taxes and benefits, files under its own tax identification number, and pools your staff with other clients to buy health coverage at large-group rates. Justworks is a PEO and publishes $79-$124/emp/mo; ADP, Deel, Oyster HR, Papaya Global and Rippling sell a PEO alongside their software. Others charge a percentage of payroll instead. The trade to weigh is leaving: unwinding a PEO means re-registering your own state tax accounts and re-buying benefits, so ask about exit terms before signing.

Is there a free HR plan worth using?

Connecteam and Homebase both publish a genuinely free tier rather than a trial, and both are capped on team size, with Homebase also limited to a single location. Both are frontline tools built for hourly and shift-based workforces, so the free plans cover scheduling, time clocks and messaging rather than benefits or performance reviews. The HRIS platforms do not have a free tier: BambooHR and Gusto offer a trial only, and Deel and Rippling charge from the first employee. Check the free plan column for the current caps.

How does health insurance and benefits administration work with HR software?

There are three routes and they cost very differently. Software with an in-house broker, such as Gusto or Rippling, administers plans you buy through it and handles enrollment and deductions. Some platforms sell it as an extra: BambooHR's benefits column reads Yes (add-on). A PEO instead puts your staff on its own master plan, which is why Justworks shows Yes (large-group). In every case the insurance premium is separate from the subscription, so a low per-employee fee tells you nothing about the total.

When does ACA reporting apply to my business?

ACA employer reporting starts once you are an applicable large employer, a status based on your full-time and full-time-equivalent headcount averaged over the previous calendar year rather than your headcount today. An applicable large employer must offer qualifying coverage and file Forms 1094-C and 1095-C with the IRS and furnish statements to employees. ADP, Deel, Gusto, Justworks and Rippling all handle this; BambooHR's ACA column reads Yes (add-on). Check the current IRS threshold and your own count before assuming you are under it, since seasonal and part-time hours count toward it.

Does HR software handle I-9 verification and E-Verify?

Form I-9 must be completed for every new hire in the US, and most HR platforms now collect it digitally during onboarding. E-Verify is a separate federal system that checks the I-9 data electronically, and it is a distinct feature: ADP, BambooHR, Deel, Justworks and Rippling list both, Gusto includes digital I-9 with E-Verify on higher tiers, and Homebase's column reads I-9 only. E-Verify is required for certain federal contractors and mandated by some states, so check your state's rules and your contracts before choosing.

When do I need an employer of record instead of HR software?

You need an employer of record when you want to hire an employee in a country where your company has no legal entity. The EOR employs the person locally, runs their payroll and benefits under local law, and invoices you. Published rates here are $599/emp/mo for Deel, from $499/emp/mo for Multiplier, $699/emp/mo for Oyster HR, from $499/emp/mo for Papaya Global and from $199/emp/mo for Payoneer Workforce Management. That fee sits on top of salary and local employer taxes, so budget the full cost, not the platform fee.

Browse all HR Software in our directory

Popular HR Software comparisons

Independent, side by side breakdowns of the matchups merchants ask about most.

Best HR Software for your business

Ranked picks for specific business types, with our live cost calculator.

HR Software pricing guides

What each provider actually charges, plan by plan, with cheaper alternatives.

HR Software alternatives

Ranked alternatives to the providers merchants are weighing up, with our live cost calculator.

Not sure which HR platform is right for your business?

Our team can help you evaluate your options based on your team size, multi-state and I-9/E-Verify compliance needs, whether you need native payroll, and your budget.