Adyen logo

Adyen

Adyen is an enterprise payments platform for online, in-person and marketplace payments, priced on interchange++ with native AI tools and an official MCP server.

Best for

Enterprise and high-volume US businesses and marketplaces that want interchange++ pricing and one platform across online, in-person and Tap to Pay.

Online and in-person card processing on interchange-plus pricing with a fixed per-transaction fee and no monthly or setup fees, including Tap to Pay, sold through its sales team.

In-person rate
IC++ + 0.60% + $0.13
Online rate
IC++ + 0.60% + $0.13
Monthly fee
Free
Contract
Not stated
Visit Adyen

Pricing breakdown

Every fee we track, grouped by where it applies.

In-person payments

In-person terminal and tap-to-pay transactions.

Transaction rate
IC++ + 0.60% + $0.13

Adyen interchange++ pricing: a $0.13 fixed processing fee plus a published 0.60% markup over pass-through interchange and scheme fees (Visa/Mastercard). The all-in rate depends on the card issued, so it cannot be reduced to one flat percentage; value is deliberately non-numeric so the cost engine shows "Get quote" rather than a misleading partial rate. Same model applies in-person and online. Source: adyen.com/pricing, read 2026-07-16.

Monthly fee
Free

No monthly, set-up, integration, or closure fees. A minimum invoice threshold applies depending on industry/business model. Source: adyen.com/pricing FAQ, read 2026-07-16.

Hardware cost
Get quote

Terminal pricing depends on multiple factors; Adyen directs merchants to contact sales rather than publishing a price. Source: adyen.com/devices FAQ, read 2026-07-16.

Setup fee
Free

No set-up fee. Source: adyen.com/pricing FAQ, read 2026-07-16.

Online payments

Online checkout and keyed-in card transactions.

Transaction rate
IC++ + 0.60% + $0.13

Same interchange++ model as in-person. Source: adyen.com/pricing, read 2026-07-16.

Monthly fee
Free

No monthly, set-up, integration, or closure fees. A minimum invoice threshold applies depending on industry/business model. Source: adyen.com/pricing FAQ, read 2026-07-16.

Setup fee
Free

No set-up fee. Source: adyen.com/pricing FAQ, read 2026-07-16.

Other fees

Chargeback fee
Get quote

A chargeback processing fee is debited for every booked chargeback; the amount is not published, and additional scheme arbitration penalties (reported up to $600) can apply. Source: help.adyen.com dispute/chargeback articles, read 2026-07-16.

AMEX rate
3.3% + $0.10 (North America) + $0.13

North America Amex rate; global rate is 3.95% + $0.13. Source: adyen.com/pricing ("American Express (AMEX)" row, More information), read 2026-07-16.

International card surcharge
Not stated

Not published as a separate named fee; cross-border interchange and scheme fees pass through within the per-payment-method IC++ rate. Source: adyen.com/pricing, read 2026-07-16.

Early termination fee
Not stated

Not published on adyen.com.

Instant payout fee
Not stated

Payout delay can be decreased "at a premium" for eligible regions, but no fee amount is published. Source: docs.adyen.com/account/getting-paid, read 2026-07-16.

Refund fee
Not published

Adyen charges the same processing fee on a refund as on the original transaction (interchange/scheme fees are not refunded); the exact amount is account-specific and appears as a line item on the monthly invoice. Source: help.adyen.com "What are the fees on my invoice?", read 2026-07-16.

PCI compliance fee
Not stated

Adyen is PCI DSS Level 1 certified itself, but no separate merchant-facing PCI compliance fee is listed among Adyen's published invoice fee categories. Source: help.adyen.com "What are the fees on my invoice?" and adyen.com/devices FAQ, read 2026-07-16.

Contract terms

Contract length
Not stated

Not published on adyen.com; pricing and terms are set per contract via the sales team.

Settlement time
Configurable payout schedule

Funds settle to a payable batch depending on payout model/frequency, then take up to a further 2 days to reach the bank account; exact timing is merchant-configured. Source: docs.adyen.com/account/getting-paid, read 2026-07-16.

Recurring billing
Yes

Tokenization and Pay by Link both support recurring/non-fixed-schedule payments. Source: adyen.com/pay-by-link and docs.adyen.com, read 2026-07-16.

How Adyen compares

All prices in USDPrices checked

Side-by-side with the closest alternatives by estimated cost.

Based on $20,000/mo card volume at a $40 average transaction, 70% in person and 30% online.

Adyen logo

Adyen

In-person rate
IC++ + 0.60% + $0.13
Online rate
IC++ + 0.60% + $0.13
Monthly fee
Free
Hardware cost
Get quote
Contract length
Not stated
Settlement time
Configurable payout schedule
Est. monthly cost
—
Visit Adyen
Square logo

Square

$659.50/mo est.

In-person rate
2.6% + 15c
Online rate
3.3% + 30c
Monthly fee
Free
Hardware cost
Free reader; Reader $59, Terminal $299, Register $799
Contract length
Month-to-month
Settlement time
Next business day
Est. monthly cost
$659.50/mo
Stripe logo

Stripe

$614.50/mo est.

In-person rate
2.7% + 5c
Online rate
2.9% + 30c
Monthly fee
Free
Hardware cost
Reader M2 $59, WisePOS E $249, Reader S700 $349
Contract length
No contract
Settlement time
Standard payouts
Est. monthly cost
$614.50/mo
Clover logo

Clover

$674/mo est.

In-person rate
2.6% + 10c
Online rate
3.5% + 10c
Monthly fee
From $0-135/mo
Hardware cost
Go ~$49-199, Flex ~$599-749, Mini ~$799-849, Station ~$1,499+
Contract length
Varies by reseller
Settlement time
Next business day
Est. monthly cost
$674/mo

Strengths and trade-offs

Pros

  • Transparent interchange++ pricing with no monthly, setup, or integration fees
  • True unified commerce: online, in-person, and Tap to Pay on one platform with shared reporting
  • Native AI (Adyen Uplift) plus an official MCP server for AI-agent integrations
  • PCI DSS Level 1 certified with offline EMV and store-and-forward payment support

Cons

  • No self-serve signup; onboarding goes through the Adyen sales team
  • Minimum invoice threshold makes it impractical for micro or low-volume merchants
  • No built-in POS software; terminals need a third-party POS to run a product catalogue
  • Chargeback, refund, and PCI-related fees are charged but not published

Accepted payment methods

Cards, wallets, and other methods supported by Adyen for US merchants.

Cards

  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • AMEX
  • Discover
  • Diners Club

Digital wallets

  • Apple Pay
  • Google Pay

Buy now, pay later

  • Affirm
  • Afterpay
  • Zip

Other

  • ACH bank transfer
  • Cash App Pay

About Adyen

Adyen is an Amsterdam-based, publicly listed payments platform used by global enterprise brands. Interchange++ pricing passes interchange and card scheme fees through directly, with a fixed $0.13 processing fee plus a small published markup on top (0.60% for Visa and Mastercard). There is no monthly, setup, integration, or closure fee, though a minimum invoice threshold applies depending on industry and business model.

Adyen's Unified Commerce platform connects online, in-person, and Tap to Pay channels on one system with shared reporting, and the company ships Adyen Uplift (AI-driven authorization and fraud optimization) plus an official Model Context Protocol server for AI-agent integrations. Everything is quote-led: businesses apply through the Adyen sales team rather than signing up self-serve, and Adyen has no built-in POS software of its own, so terminals pair with a third-party or partner POS system.

Adyen was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Amsterdam, Netherlands.

We may earn a commission when you click through to a provider. Any offer shown is the provider’s own, and we check each one before it appears. Neither ever affects ranking or data shown. Read our terms.

Work at Adyen? Request a correction

Compare Adyen

Compare Adyen against every other US provider on price, contract terms, and features.